We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cut above.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
11901 Grand Commons Ave, Fairfax Corner, Fairfax, VA 22030-8603
571-522-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cut above.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Deviled eggs are just like the ones the girl next store makes for a picnic. What's not to like?

Drinks and apps were fine, and artistically presented. Main course was even more so.

Restaurant has done well on multiple visits. Not specific to this restaurant, but a suggestion about Fairfax Corners. It is jammed on weekends, so weekdays are a best bet for top service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    153
    118
    34
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

One of the best Seafood restaurants in NOVA. Must try the shrimp and grits if you go! ... This is a location that my organization tends to use for candidate interviews when we are hiring for a new position.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“what a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I brought my family to coastal Flats by chance - could not find a more convenient place - but what a surprise: impeccable service, superb food, great ambiance and reasonable prices. I'll definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Creek, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gotta try it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are looking for upscale casual and want high end service, this is the place. Flawless every time we go. The best grilled Tuna I have had in years. I usually save tuna for sushi because I am so picky. They got it right. Try the shrimp cocktail too. The mango is a nice touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockville, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Coastal Flats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I love the food at Coastal Flats and feel it is fairly priced. The bar area is nice too, if you want to take a break from shopping. the bread they serve in the beginning is delicious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.