We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good resturant in the Great American Chain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
11901 Grand Commons Avenue, Fairfax, VA 22030
+1 571-522-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 348 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: GAR's favorite beach house serving coastal and classic food making every day a vacation. Flip Flops, optional.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another good resturant in the Great American Chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Always good, always reliable--if I could I would have rated 3.5 since it really is better than average and wholesome. One drawback (and some would view this as a benefit) is the menu seldom changes so it can get tiresome--daily specials are also sort of routine. Breads are consistently good, desserts are below par in terms of quality and price.

Can recommend for a business lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    147
    38
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Long Wait...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

While visiting Virginia and Washington last week, my wife found this place online. We called to see about reservations and all they offered was "call ahead" for 2.5 hours seating time from the time we called. When we arrived about 1 hour and 45 minutes later, we were told we could not be seated until the exact "call ahead" time had elapsed. People walking in the door, without having called, were being told 2 hour wait times. Now, this was on Valentine's Day evening, so the wait might have been longer than usual. The interior of the restaurant is very cozy and inviting. Not too brightly lit, but just right. Once seated, service was excellent. The waitress was courteous, prompt and attentive. Now, let me tell you about the table bread. OMG, this was delicious. It tasted like a hot donut. Combine that with the honey butter and we couldn't eat enough of it. My wife had the BLUE CRAB & ROCK SHRIMP FRITTERS, while I had the LOBSTER BISQUE. We also shared the DEVILED EGGS W. SPICED PECANS & SUGAR CURED BACON. All were excellent. For the main course I had the CRAB CAKE & FILET MIGNON cooked to Medium. Wow, delicious. For dessert we ordered the WARM WHITE CHOCOLATE BREAD PUDDING. A perfect dining experience all around. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 rating was due to the long wait time and lack of reservations. I do plan on returning to this restaurant next time I'm in Virginia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersin (Icel), Turkey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It is a nice restaurant to try if you are in Fairfax, Virginia.
The premises are nicely decorated.
The service is friendly. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill,Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ok...sorry to say Coastal is losing it's Shine.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Ok...just went today after not visiting for a while. Sorry to say I found the same results from my last visit. Service has gone down hill, they use to be so attentive....no more. We ordered the calamari with the sweet spicy dressing, portion was smaller and was much spicier than it use to be....too much. I ordered the chopped salad with grilled salmon. The buttermilk dressing was always one of my favorites, however this time it tasted watered down, the salad mix seemed different, and portion smaller....bummer! I asked for grilled salmon...it turned out to be a smokey grilled salmon....was never told it was going to be smokey, a turn off for me. The waiter should have told me it was smokey!. After many visits to Coastal I'm afraid we will be avoiding it now...such a shame...was one of the best restaurants in the area. Did they change hands recently with new ownership...could that be it? I would have complained but my husband didn't want to make a fuss.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Like other Great American restaurants, Coastal Flats provides imaginative food based on the particular restaurant's theme. Fish reigns here - yet there are other menu items for the less adventurous - and food is nicely done. Service is usually on a team basis and is attentive. My only complaint is that it is a noisy restaurant - large dining room with high ceilings and not much to absorb noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.