We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
11901 Grand Commons Avenue, Fairfax, VA 20878
(571) 522 - 6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 331 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

There were 7 guests in my party. Four meals arrived about 10-15 minutes after the order was placed. No problem. Then... 5 minutes later, two more meals arrived. Then, after another 5+ minutes, the last meal arrived - at least 10 minutes, but probably more - after the first entrees were set on the table. Violation of one of the more basic rules or restaurant management, no? A hostess, a host and our waiter apologized profusely for the delayed delivery, but who really cares about an apology when one member of your party is staring at their silverware and everyone else is wondering whether they should start eating (rude) or let their food get cold (kind of silly). The only real answer here (to me, anyway) is to comp a drink or a dessert or even the delayed entree. You didn't live up to your end of the deal, why should we pay full price? On the positive side of the ledger: our 5:45 reservation was honored and we were seated promptly. Everyone did enjoy their food. Still...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    175
    50
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great food every time I visit the restaurant. It's a wonderful place to take a date or go with the family. The food was very delicious and fresh. Our waiter was very informative of the menu and had great service, definitely coming back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing, Every Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I try to eat here at least once when I'm in Fairfax visiting my family for the holidays. The service, in my opinion, is exceptional. The whole staff really does work as a team and often they seem to anticipate your next request even before you do. The food is consistent and very good. My only real complaint is the fact the menu is a bit limited (never seems to change), and the fresh catch more often than not is Mahi Mahi. The restaurant is always loud and makes it difficult to hold a conversation. I'm guessing this is intentional as you normally don't see people lingering after their meals. I'd hesitate to use the word value, but I do think you pay a fair price for what you get. Overall, I really like this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C. USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bland...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

unless you are a fish lover, which I am not... just more mediocre food frome the mid-Atlantic. Their other restaurants in the D.C. are are not much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

After a long day of Christmas shopping we stopped here for dinner. There was a wait for a table so we decided to eat at the bar. We are glad we made that decision-the bartender Tyler was awesome! We had the deviled egg and featured oyster appetizer (that he recommended) and they were great. Shrimp and grits for dinner was the best I've ever had! If you go to Coastal Flats and there is a wait-take my advice and sit at the bar for the best meal and service you've ever had!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.