We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Every Time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
11901 Grand Commons Ave, Fairfax Corner, Fairfax, VA 22030-8603
571-522-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing, Every Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I try to eat here at least once when I'm in Fairfax visiting my family for the holidays. The service, in my opinion, is exceptional. The whole staff really does work as a team and often they seem to anticipate your next request even before you do. The food is consistent and very good. My only real complaint is the fact the menu is a bit limited (never seems to change), and the fresh catch more often than not is Mahi Mahi. The restaurant is always loud and makes it difficult to hold a conversation. I'm guessing this is intentional as you normally don't see people lingering after their meals. I'd hesitate to use the word value, but I do think you pay a fair price for what you get. Overall, I really like this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    161
    122
    34
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C. USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bland...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

unless you are a fish lover, which I am not... just more mediocre food frome the mid-Atlantic. Their other restaurants in the D.C. are are not much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great meal and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

After a long day of Christmas shopping we stopped here for dinner. There was a wait for a table so we decided to eat at the bar. We are glad we made that decision-the bartender Tyler was awesome! We had the deviled egg and featured oyster appetizer (that he recommended) and they were great. Shrimp and grits for dinner was the best I've ever had! If you go to Coastal Flats and there is a wait-take my advice and sit at the bar for the best meal and service you've ever had!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've eaten there on numerous occations and have never had a bad meal. No question this is the best resaurant I've been to in No. VA. It's very busy at peak eating hours. I recommend going during non-peak hours or use call a head schduling.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant. Great swordfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch there. Ordered the swordfish. It was great. Very fresh and had a great sauce. Very cool atmosphere. Price is fair. Waited only a few minutes to be seated. We always had someone checking on us. Very good service. Enjoyed it!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.