We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, good food, outdoor tables” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
11901 Grand Commons Avenue, Fairfax, VA 20878
(571) 522 - 6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 321 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Family friendly, good food, outdoor tables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

There is something for everyone. Food tastes great. Service is friendly and prompt. My favorite part of Coastal Flats is the oversized plantation style outdoor porch. This feature is a rare pleasure in this area. The covered porch is wide and has plenty of tables. We sat outside during a light rain, and never got wet. It was quite peaceful, especially given the noise levels inside the restaurant. The menu features alot of seafood, but there is a nice assortment of chicken and salad dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    162
    45
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love it, just don't rush me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went to Coastal Flats for my wife's birthday with another couple. Drinks at the bar were excellent. We had a nice table and the servers were attentive. Appetizers were brought to the table quickly and were delicious. Our dinners were made to order and were better than expected. It is nice to go to a restaurant and have portion sizes that are reasonable. Sometimes we feel rushed by the staff but most servers typically figure out if you don't want to be rushed. I'm certain we will return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A family favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This member of the Great American Restaurants chain is, by far, our favorite. There's something for everyone on this menu. The prices are reasonable and the food is tasty. It is noisy, but then it's kid-friendly, so that's to be expected. Oh, there's almost always a wait, so call ahead.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chilean Sea Bass -- WOW and deserts to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had Chilean Sea Bass over steamed spinach w/ sticky rice and a ginger sauce... HOLY MOLY was it fantastic!

the flourless waffle for desert was also a fantasic treat...

this is a must try place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great American Restaurants are just great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

For being part of a restaurant chain, I never surprised by how good the food this place (and all the other brand names in the chain) serve. For a mid-to-high priced dinner the value and service cannot be beaten. The burger is fantastic, the salads full of freshness and flavor, and the crabcakes delicious. If they run out of something, they quickly offer you an appetizer or desert to make up for it. Great place and great restaurant business model...it is no wonder there is always a wait

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.