We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kawata Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kawata Japanese Restaurant
3250 Old Pickett Rd, Fairfax, VA 22031
703 385 3677
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 349 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Queenstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was a good Sushi place. My friend and I had a great dinner. We mostly ordered the special sushi and it was great!! The only thing that I did not like was sashami. It did not come on rice so it was just raw fish. Other than that this was a great experience. I would definitely visit here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love this place. It is one of the few authentic Japanese owned sushi restaurants in the area. The food is excellent and the service is attentive and charming. The sushi is fresh and yummy. The bento box is a great mixture for a meal. It's location is off the main road so the restaurant is never full. There are large, comfortable tables. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Best in the DC Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We've been big fans of Kawata for years. It has a diverse menu, and we've never had a bad meal or even bad dish. We are especially partial to the yellow tail jaw, calamari salad, and the seaweed salad. Even the ordinary salads and miso soup are noteworthy. We drive a long way to get here, and we always are happy that we do. You can eat inexpensively if you are careful, but it's easy to run up a bigger bill when the food is so good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Warm environment, good Japanese taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I would think this would be one of the best tasting Japanese restaurant in this area compared to other "Japanese" restaurants. I've been in Japan for a long time and Shishi quality is very good, restaurant atmosphere is also nice.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

This restaurant is not especially imposing as it is located in a former Pizza Hut building (no insult meant to PH). But the top-notch sushi and rolls prepared by the chef overcome any shortcomings in decor. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This out-of-the-way small restaurant in Fairfax Circle is a real gem for sushi lovers.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawata Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kawata Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawata Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.