We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blenheim” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blenheim

Blenheim
3610 Old Lee Hwy., Fairfax, VA 22030
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 Attractions in Fairfax
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 1855 estate is most famous for its attic which housed Union soldiers who left drawings on the walls.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Blenheim”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Not much to see after you gave seen the real Blenheim. It is easy to find in Fairfax not too far for the Beltway. There Are plenty of good restaurants in the area. I was disappointed after driving to see it plus I took out of state visitors.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“History Talks to You at Blenheim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I don't know what Tessa C is talking about........Blenheim is a hidden gem! The volunteers are among the most enthusiastic and informative I've ever encountered. No one can expect to learn all about the Civil War in a hour. But immerse yourself in the writings left by these Union soldiers and you will feel history coming alive like you've never experienced it before! No other historical site has given me a sense of what the people were actually feeling and experiencing as Blenheim does. I've been in many museums, churches, and historical houses around the world, but never felt I was experiencing how the people "thought" at that particular time in history. My husband and I spent three hours examining the graffiti, also totally in awe realizing the labor of love performed by the archeologists who have for years been painstakingly uncovering the paint and wallpaper to reveal these hidden messages of war and all the feelings they unearthed. Blenheim is so good, I'm bringing friends back here soon to share this treasure with them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“if you're interested in Civil War history...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This restored home has a small museum and interpretive signs all in the heart of Fairfax. Gives a nice glimpse into a family's history and a house's role in the war. And it's free...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“History comes to life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Blenheim offers visitors a look at Civil War grafitti written by wounded soldiers housed in the historic home. Because of fire safety regulations, you can't visit the actual upstairs rooms and attic where the grafitti appears. However, the onsite interpretive center features full-size photo images of the grafitti as well as helpful commentary, giving visitors a look into the personal thoughts and feelings of men caught up in the war and fighting pain and boredom while recuperating. This area is also the site of Civil War re-enactments featuring authentically garbed and equipped volunteers who turn their love of history into a living history lesson for visitors.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Interesting place for Civil War history lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I visited this historic site with a friend. It is free to visit, and there are free guided tours led by volunteers. It is an interesting site, and the Civil War soldier graffiti is worth the look. You will get more out of this visit if you are somewhat educated on Civil War history. The tour guides are volunteers, and not really very informative, so don't expect to learn much from the tour. Their job is more to escort you thru the property. We were only allowed on the first floor of the house, but the reproduction of the attic in the visitor center is the main attraction. You cannot see this actual part of the house on the tour due to instability of the home. You can see the entire site in less than one hour.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blenheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blenheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.