We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but thorough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Museum

Fairfax Museum
10209 Main St., Fairfax, VA 22030
703-385-8414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Fairfax
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum focuses primarily on the city's Civil War battles.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but thorough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The museum is immediately made more interesting because it is housed in an old school house. The permanent Fairfax exhibit is upstairs and is small but covers the city's history well. The exhibit on the main floor changes periodically and will highlight one part of Fairfax's story - one time it was housing through the years, one time it was the Civil Wars years.

I always bring my guests here to show how rich a history our little city has. The folks working at the museum have always been extremely helpful too, answering all of our guests questions easily.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I always look for the brown signs wherever I go, denoting some type of historic or park treasure. It was quite a surpise to visit this small museum on the side of Little River/Main Street. You can see the Fairfax and DC area as it was 'back in the day', see artifacts and learn some history to boot. You pass by it every day... stop to smell the flowers and visit the Fairfax Museum. It will be a well spent hour out of your day and you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“They Own Mosby and Antonia Ford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As a person who lives in Fairfax City, I was happy to entertain out of town guests by using this museum and its associated walking tour of Fairfax.

While the museum is not large, its displays are interesting. When the History Channel tells the story of Mosby's raiders, they typcally visit this museum to get the story.

While I know the story of Mosby well, I did not know about Antonia Ford, a Fairfax woman who withstood charges as a spy. This museum brought her story alive.

If you choose to go on the self-guided walking tour, do stop in at the Ford House. While it is in use as a law office, they have a nice collection of photos and allow the general public in to enjoy the home and its collection.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth dropping by sometime...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This easily overlooked little brick house can be a pleasant stop for an hour or so, and features fresh exhibits regularly. The building has some challenges -- it could use further renovations and smells a bit musty -- but the information and fascinating photos are worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Field Trip Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The visit to the Fairfax Museum was during field trip visit. We enjoyed the learning experience and the scenary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairfax Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fairfax Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.