We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but thorough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Museum

Fairfax Museum
10209 Main St., Fairfax, VA 22030
703-385-8414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 attractions in Fairfax
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum focuses primarily on the city's Civil War battles.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small but thorough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The museum is immediately made more interesting because it is housed in an old school house. The permanent Fairfax exhibit is upstairs and is small but covers the city's history well. The exhibit on the main floor changes periodically and will highlight one part of Fairfax's story - one time it was housing through the years, one time it was the Civil Wars years.

I always bring my guests here to show how rich a history our little city has. The folks working at the museum have always been extremely helpful too, answering all of our guests questions easily.

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I always look for the brown signs wherever I go, denoting some type of historic or park treasure. It was quite a surpise to visit this small museum on the side of Little River/Main Street. You can see the Fairfax and DC area as it was 'back in the day', see artifacts and learn some history to boot. You pass by it every day... stop to smell the flowers and visit the Fairfax Museum. It will be a well spent hour out of your day and you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“They Own Mosby and Antonia Ford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As a person who lives in Fairfax City, I was happy to entertain out of town guests by using this museum and its associated walking tour of Fairfax.

While the museum is not large, its displays are interesting. When the History Channel tells the story of Mosby's raiders, they typcally visit this museum to get the story.

While I know the story of Mosby well, I did not know about Antonia Ford, a Fairfax woman who withstood charges as a spy. This museum brought her story alive.

If you choose to go on the self-guided walking tour, do stop in at the Ford House. While it is in use as a law office, they have a nice collection of photos and allow the general public in to enjoy the home and its collection.

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth dropping by sometime...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This easily overlooked little brick house can be a pleasant stop for an hour or so, and features fresh exhibits regularly. The building has some challenges -- it could use further renovations and smells a bit musty -- but the information and fascinating photos are worth it.

Visited October 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Field Trip Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The visit to the Fairfax Museum was during field trip visit. We enjoyed the learning experience and the scenary.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfax Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.