We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Northern Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mozart

Villa Mozart
4009 Chain Bridge Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030
+1 703-691-4747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Villa Mozart is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 328 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Pasta, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Main Street (Route 236)
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Outstanding Northern Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We can't imagine why anyone would rate this restaurant anything but 5 star. I guess the DC area has it's share of know-it-alls who think the world is a perfect place created just for them to savor every experience to their individual expectations. For a very experienced traveler who has had a lifetime of good-better-best experiences, Villa Mozart ranks up with the best. The menu is mostly northern Italian, which some may not know the distinction is due to close borders with countries whose larder is based on it's particular local availabilities. This translates to Chef Andrea being a big supporter of locally produced foods, from vegetables to some of his cheeses. The baked goods are from his kitchen and all the pasta is his own making. The creativity of the plates stays true to the genesis of his experience and this may not be apparent to some of the less-sophisticated diners. We found the menu, including a smallish wine selection, to be fairly priced. Too bad a little more effort couldn't add to the choices. Service was excellent, attentive but not hovering and just a perfect pace for a busy Saturday night. We will return with guests the next time in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    22
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A first for us ---not enough menus??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Attracted by positive reviews, we went to this restaurant for a special occasion. They did NOT acknowledge the occasion at all.

We were shown to our table which had one dirty wine glass on it. When we gave it back to the waiter he examined it carefully to make sure we were not lying. Waited for 15 minutes (we timed it), and then the waiter brought ONE menu and announced, "we don't have enough menus!!" We were stunned. How is this even possible??

My meal was good, though portions were pretty small. My husband told me it was impossible to eat a pea-salad appetizer in a metal bowl with only a fork as the peas kept sliding back into the bowl. By this time we were laughing at all the weird things that were happening. The penne pasta with lobster was a joke (did they just get the four small pieces of lobster from an old claw which was in the freezer?), and the wine was only marginal.

And the service was not impressive. It appeared that the overworked waiter had ALL the tables in the main dining room, assisted by a helper who did the water and bread. The time between courses was excessive and you were never confident that anyone remembered you or cared about your dining experience.

So, quite disappointed, felt the more than $100 price was excessive for the level of service and food. The owner/chef needs to step up his game.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I am never disappointed by Villa Mozart and always look forward to my visits there. The food is always creative, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The staff is knowledgeable and professional. The ambiance is elegant without it being stuffy. It is a small and charming place. Thank you for being close by so we do not have to travel to the city for a similar experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Although not regulars at the restaurant, this was perhaps our 5th time in two years and each time we have been seated in the same seat. We are used to a bit more attentiveness for the price that we paid for the food and wine. While the service was NOT impressive, the filled pasta was a winner. The parsley soup with a scallop was much saltier than I am used to eating. The evening fish special (haddock) appeared to be very popular and was good, but not excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Good food but somewhat drab atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was my third visit in three years. I have always found the food choices interesting and the taste excellent. There is an Austrian/Italian influence to the cooking because of the chef's training and some items are listed on the menu only in German or Italian. The portions are small as you might expect in a gourmet restaurant, with a price tag of $124 for 2 before tax (including 2 glasses of wine and the prix fixe meal--which just means pick one item from each course). The cream of asparagus soup (an Austrian specialty) was set off nicely with pieces of scallops. The smoked prosciutto with "speck" (bacon) and artichoke was presented in a lovely two-part dish and tasted very good. The rack of lamb, while not the best I've ever had, was succulent and cooked just as I like it. The gnocchi with sausage were good but not outstanding. The wine by the glass selection is extremely limited. The service was not that impressive and our waiter disappeared after bringing us our wine and someone else took over, without checking on how we liked the meal. I remembered the restaurant as having more character and atmosphere than it has now. Although the restaurant is housed in an old house, it doesn't have a lot of character. We were seated in a quiet room with no color on the walls and no art work--just a room. Not my idea of a great atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Mozart also viewed

 

Been to Villa Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mozart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.