We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mozart

Villa Mozart
4009 Chain Bridge Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030
703-691-4747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Villa Mozart is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 343 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Main Street (Route 236)
McLean, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I am never disappointed by Villa Mozart and always look forward to my visits there. The food is always creative, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The staff is knowledgeable and professional. The ambiance is elegant without it being stuffy. It is a small and charming place. Thank you for being close by so we do not have to travel to the city for a similar experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    18
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Although not regulars at the restaurant, this was perhaps our 5th time in two years and each time we have been seated in the same seat. We are used to a bit more attentiveness for the price that we paid for the food and wine. While the service was NOT impressive, the filled pasta was a winner. The parsley soup with a scallop was much saltier than I am used to eating. The evening fish special (haddock) appeared to be very popular and was good, but not excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good food but somewhat drab atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was my third visit in three years. I have always found the food choices interesting and the taste excellent. There is an Austrian/Italian influence to the cooking because of the chef's training and some items are listed on the menu only in German or Italian. The portions are small as you might expect in a gourmet restaurant, with a price tag of $124 for 2 before tax (including 2 glasses of wine and the prix fixe meal--which just means pick one item from each course). The cream of asparagus soup (an Austrian specialty) was set off nicely with pieces of scallops. The smoked prosciutto with "speck" (bacon) and artichoke was presented in a lovely two-part dish and tasted very good. The rack of lamb, while not the best I've ever had, was succulent and cooked just as I like it. The gnocchi with sausage were good but not outstanding. The wine by the glass selection is extremely limited. The service was not that impressive and our waiter disappeared after bringing us our wine and someone else took over, without checking on how we liked the meal. I remembered the restaurant as having more character and atmosphere than it has now. Although the restaurant is housed in an old house, it doesn't have a lot of character. We were seated in a quiet room with no color on the walls and no art work--just a room. Not my idea of a great atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We met some "foodie" friends who have been raving about this place. We soon found out why. We started off casual with drinks and took some time to just catch up. They have an excellent wine selection and fully stocked bar. They brought us some cheesy bread sticks that were impossible not to nibble on. The saltiness went well with our drinks. We finally ordered some appetizers; the Speck (Smoked Prosciutto tray) and the Salmon Tar Tar. The Speck was an awesome plate that contained thinly slices cheese with the prosciutto. It was delicious. My wife ordered the Angnello, (Rack of lamb) and I ordered the Black and white chitarra (guitar spaghetti) with baby clams, sea scallops, shrimp, Savoy cabbage and black Norcia truffle. The food was cooked perfectly and was so delicious that I wanted to like the plate. I asked for more bread so that I could mop up what was left of the sauce. If you are around the Fairfax area, you need to make a reservation. Our friends ordered the Risotto Ollo (Maine lobster risotto) and the Gnocchi which were outstanding as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fresh pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We ate here for dinner it was really fresh pasta very nice atmosphere white tablecloth dress up a little no jeans I feel more comfortable in a button down ... Pasta is amazingly fresh all ingradient are excellent high quality. Dinner was excellent wine is a little bit expensive I totally recommend this restaurant for a couple

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Mozart also viewed

 

Been to Villa Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mozart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.