We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
12831 Fair Lakes Pkwy, Fairfax, VA 22033-3807
703-968-2601
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 331 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Nothing outstanding. Got the grilled lobster, back wrapped scallops and bacon wrap scallop. Lobster under cook, bacon entrees overlooked. Lot of choices but preparation of food underwhelming.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Your average chain seafood place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Quite an expensive place for the atmosphere and quality of the food. Lobster was tough, salmon and vegetables overcooked. When spending this much money, I'd prefer to eat somewhere without a roll of paper towels on the table and kids running everywhere. My brother ordered fish and chips where were clearly soggy and dripping with grease. I think red lobster is a better choice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Bring a Fire Extinguisher for your Table”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

OMG! Without a doubt, the WORST we have ever eaten. Everything, no matter what you order, is so spiced that it's almost inedible. Shrimp, hush puppies, lobster, even mashed potatoes. How can mashed potatoes be so spicy that you can't figure out what you're eating?? I went through almost three glasses of water and a beer - when we walked out my tongue was literally burning. Not sure how anyone cooking these things can even reasonably believe it's tasty. I will say the onion rings, salad, and string beans were not spicy, but my guess is they must have run out of whatever they were putting in this food. I had the opportunity to fill out a survey on the receipt and get a free $7.00 appetizer for our next visit. It could be worth $50 and I wouldn't go back. They should supply a fire extinguisher for each customer who walks in the door. NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wanting more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I'm from NY and been hearing about Joes for the longest time so when I came to DC my friend took me. although my meal was good looking it lack quantity and my shimp was not divined that was a big issue for me. was not what I had expected at all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Classics done well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I shared a marriage retreat date while watching our college alma mata play on the big screen. We shared a classic for two. Having never been to a joe's crab shack, we asked our server for suggestions and directions which he helpfully provided. The tricks on eating crabs and how to use the tools were welcome. Don't be afraid to ask directions. The food was excellent and a good value for the money. We came away full but not stuffed with crab legs, shrimp and sausages along with corn on the cob and potatoes satisfying our taste buds. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.