We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a Fire Extinguisher for your Table” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
12831 Fair Lakes Pkwy, Fairfax, VA 22033-3807
703-968-2601
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 331 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Bring a Fire Extinguisher for your Table”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

OMG! Without a doubt, the WORST we have ever eaten. Everything, no matter what you order, is so spiced that it's almost inedible. Shrimp, hush puppies, lobster, even mashed potatoes. How can mashed potatoes be so spicy that you can't figure out what you're eating?? I went through almost three glasses of water and a beer - when we walked out my tongue was literally burning. Not sure how anyone cooking these things can even reasonably believe it's tasty. I will say the onion rings, salad, and string beans were not spicy, but my guess is they must have run out of whatever they were putting in this food. I had the opportunity to fill out a survey on the receipt and get a free $7.00 appetizer for our next visit. It could be worth $50 and I wouldn't go back. They should supply a fire extinguisher for each customer who walks in the door. NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wanting more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I'm from NY and been hearing about Joes for the longest time so when I came to DC my friend took me. although my meal was good looking it lack quantity and my shimp was not divined that was a big issue for me. was not what I had expected at all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Classics done well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I shared a marriage retreat date while watching our college alma mata play on the big screen. We shared a classic for two. Having never been to a joe's crab shack, we asked our server for suggestions and directions which he helpfully provided. The tricks on eating crabs and how to use the tools were welcome. Don't be afraid to ask directions. The food was excellent and a good value for the money. We came away full but not stuffed with crab legs, shrimp and sausages along with corn on the cob and potatoes satisfying our taste buds. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Took hubby there for his birthday. We started with drinks and ordered the crab nachos, they were really good. For our entree, hubby ordered the new Arctic Bay and I ordered Joe's Classic. Both were delicious and well seasoned. This was my hubby's first time at Joe's and I am sure we will be back. As I stated it was his birthday and yes the staff sang happy birthday (Joe's Crab Shack version) to him. We passed on dessert because we were both very full. But next time hopefully I will leave room. Overall, great food, great experience and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Place to Share Odd Items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been here twice recently and both times my daughter and I have gravitated to the steampots. The first time we ordered up the KJ steampot which had snow crabs, scallops and mussels along with corn on the cob and potatoes. You have to like mussels (which I do) and crab (which my daughter does) to choose this pot. It's a little light on the scallops (which we both love). The next time we decided to try the Santolla steampot. Again it had mussels, but the New Zealand green lipped variety. They are meatier, but have less of the mussel taste that I like. The Santolla steampot also had King crab, clams, shrimp and smoked sausage along with the corn and potatoes. Both pots were easily enough to feed the both of us and let us try foods we never cook ourselves.
The service was great and this particular restaurant looks like it can pack in the crowds. I'll end up going back and maybe at some point I'll venture away from the steampots, but not until I try most of them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.