We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the diner feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Diner

Silver Diner
Fair Oaks Mall, 12250 Fair Lakes Pkwy. (West Ox Rd.), Fairfax, VA 22033
703-359-5941
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 360 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
Clinton, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the diner feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great diner atmosphere. Have the jukebox control at every booth. Food is very well done. Prices are very reasonable. I took away nothing negative from this visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Silver Diner in Fairfax not up to snuff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having eaten at the branch in Merrifield, I was not happy with this place! The service was terrible and the orders were incorrect. I will go to the Merrifield one instead!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

They use a lot of local/regional produce/food in their dishes. I've never been disappointed - it can be pricy for a diner but the quality is worth it. Try the milkshake!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived during a Saturday morning rush but were able to walk right in and get a seat at the counter. Our server, Uncle Vinnie gave us excellent service with a smile! This retro diner was a delight to visit. I loved their menu full of healthy options. They are known for fresh and local cuisine. I ordered the California omelette. The omelette had lots of flavor but only 431 calories. It was made with egg beaters, chicken, tomatoes, Jack cheese, scallions, cilantro, sour cream, and blackbean salsa. It was fantastic! It came with a side of fresh strawberries and a cream cheese dip. My husband ordered their blueberry buttermilk pancakes with chicken sausage and a side of poached eggs. It was served with warmed maple syrup. The blueberries were fresh and sweet. The chicken sausage had great flavor. Everything was hot, fresh, and delicious. This has been our our favorite diners that we have visited and highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always an excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We've eaten here a number of times and always come away satisfied -- and stuffed! The portions, especially if ordering from the dinner menu, are huge. The food is always excellent (and the new menu seems to have even improved it), and the service is very friendly and helpful. Everyone from the manager to the servers makes you feel at home, and this seems particularly true of this Silver Diner in comparison to others we've tried in the past. The prices are very fair, especially given the large portions. Apparently this place is about to begin a renovation of some sort and we're anxious to see what that will mean. We'll certianly find out since this will remain a local favorite for us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Diner also viewed

 

Been to Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.