We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staple Thai Restaurant in Fairfax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakoontra Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sakoontra Thai Restaurant
Price Club Plaza, 12300-C Price Club Plaza (West Ox Rd.), Fairfax, VA 22030
703-818-8886
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Staple Thai Restaurant in Fairfax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Back when I used to work in Fairfax, Sakoontra was the staple Thai restaurant for work lunches - and even the occasional dinner.

In the past three months, I had the opportunity to eat lunch there on two occasions. The restaurant is as it ever was. The food is tasty - even perhaps a bit spicy for some palates. My preference with Thai food is curry dishes, so I ate beef and chicken dishes on my respective visits. I usually order a thai ice tea as well.

There is nothing particularly remarkable about Sakoontra, but it still feels like a step above some other Thai restaurants in the Fairfax area. It is a more than adequate place of lunch or even a small dinner, but I would not classify it as fine dining by any stretch, although in fairness I have not ventured into their more fancy dishes.

Also, as a bit of trivia, Sakoontra and Thai Farm in Rockville are related.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    5
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“definitely going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went to Sakoontra during Christmas shopping mid afternoon. Just wanted a quick snack - and we ate everything. Great selections for Vegetarians - choices without fish sauce. I had the best green beans - spicy - absolutely gigantic and it will be difficult for me to order other selections since this was just delicious. My dining partner visits Thailand on a regular basis so he is knows how Thai food tastes firsthand. He had the Tamarind chicken which he enjoyed. He also raves about this place. I have already told my daughter if she comes to visit Virginia, we are taking her here. It is probably a better location for famiies without young children since it is a large open space, so noises will carry throughout. I have not tried the takeout so I cannot comment on how the food transports - but my beans had a crispy texture, and I would think that it may lose that texture if placed in a take out container, which might account for the complaints about the soggy texture in some reviews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, lots of vegetarian options, fun atmosphere and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went there in December 2012 for my birthday and in January for a birthday dinner for a friend. We had a wonderful evening, the food was great, the service excellent and the prices very reasonable with large portions. If you are vegetarian, the vegetarian menu items do not have fish sauce. If you stray from the vegetarian options menu, ask your server to make sure there is no fish sauce in your entree. The staff is very concerned about making sure vegetarians are taken care of. Also, if you wish to have less oil in your dish, you can request this as well. The food is freshly prepared and is hot when it arrives.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish oil in EVERYTHING!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I had specifically asked for a dish without fish oil. The waiter suggested a dish without it so I tried it out. When I got my food, it had a lot of fish oil. I kindly asked the waiter if I could send it back for another dish. He brought another one out and said it was made with fish oil. Sure enough, I had the same issue again. I sen the dish back and the I got the check with both dishes charged to me. I had one bite from each dish and sent it back because it was not made correctly the way I had requested. The manager was not willing to waive the charge of the dish. I left the restaurant hungry and ended up eating fast food. Worst experience and service ever.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
1 review
“Bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The pad Thai noodles were overlooked, slimy and didn't taste like pad Thai. The chicken satay was dry and the peanut sauce horrible. The green curry was watery and again, the chicken was dry. It must have been reheated. What a waste of money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakoontra Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakoontra Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.