We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Charges Make for a poor experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Country Buffet

Old Country Buffet
9650 Main St Ste 24-28, Fairfax, VA 22031-3748
(703) 764-0708
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #112 of 341 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hidden Charges Make for a poor experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Attended in August of 2012. Went for dinner and was asked if we wanted beverages with our meal. We replied yes and were charged and additional $7.00 for two people. No warning and no advertising except for the $10.99 dinner price. The manager was there and When asked about it he gave the take or leave it attitude. We stayed and paid the extra money but can really say the only thing good about the meal was the chocolate milk. No one cleaned away our plates. We moved them to another table. Things were clean but food had been a round a while. Not what I remember when they were in Michigan. Not worth the effort to attend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    3
    12
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A reprieve when you don't want to cook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I have been going to OCB for over fifteen years. Management does a pretty good job of maintaining food quality and facility cleanliness. But, there are occasional slumps as cooks and bus staff turn over. At this time - May 2012 - it's on an upswing. Recommend joining the OCB e-Club to get occasional discounts from $14.00 dinners ($13.50 for seniors).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best place to have a big family gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Came here for my daughters birthday and we have a big family, staff was very pleasant and the food choices are great for the money.

I recommend this place and can't wait to see how the lunch and dinner menus stack up to the other buffets i have been in.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3rd Thursday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

At this location of the well known chain of American Buffet restaurants in addition to their wide selection of salad bar, Mexican bar, Chinese, Spaghetti,Fish, Chicken (fried & broiled,) Steak, vegetable sides and many desserts has a live Big Band playing vintage to modern jazz on the 3rd Thursday of the month from 8 PM until closing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great selection of quality food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This buffet is huge....it has many selections of both hot and cold food, as well as a very large seating area that can accomodate a table for two or a group of 30+. The restaurant is clean and food is tasty and fresh.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Country Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Old Country Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Country Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.