We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best TAI Soup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viet House

Viet House
11216 Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22030-5015
(703) 934-0923
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 360 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best TAI Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have pasted this shop 1000 times I always thought it was veteran’s club house. The place looks modern inside, but most tables are lined up in rows touching.( each other that a little strange.) Well the portions we had were very large and the broth was the best I have had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I try & go here once a month. The vermicelli bowl is the only thing I ever get because it is always good. very fresh.
Staff is friendly. Always has a good crowd, but can get a table.
My friend & I go to get our vermicelli bowl fix & don't even need a menu.
Great value!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meat Cooked at Your Table”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've been to Viet House a couple of times. Service is somewhat cold, but that may be due to the lack of spoken English. Food is okay. Servers cook your meat at the table so it's nice and hot. Sushi varieties okay - quality is good. As is typical with many buffets, the hot food is really just lukewarm. Dine here if you want a fairly good meat offering.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Based on other reviews here plus it was close to our hotel (ie 0.5 mi), I decided to visit this restaurant and order out to take the food back with me. Also, let me say that my ethnic background makes me very well acquainted with Vietnamese food.

Perhaps this restaurant is known for its pho, which I did not order because it doesn't taste as good when ordering out. Instead I opted for goi cuon (summer/spring rolls), bun (rice vermicelli with pork and egg rolls) and com (rice with pork). The goi cuon were large and while not the best, were quite good. No issues there. The problem is with the other two dishes which used the same kind of pork. The pork is usually a rich, dark color from the caramelization of the sugars as it is grilled. In this case, it was more of a grey/light brown and the lack of flavor in it hurt both dishes. The bun also contained egg rolls which were big and pretty good but the nuoc mam seasoning that you apply to the bun and rice didn't have the usual flavorings.

I normally would not have gone to this restaurant as we'd normally visit the ones further east on Arlington. If you're willing to make the drive, then those are the ones I'd recommend to those looking for authentic Vietnamese food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“"THE" best Vietnamese Food in VA!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I grew up eating Vietnamese food. I've eaten at Pho restaurants from San Francisco to Toronto, Canada. Since moving to VA, I've found some very good Vietnamese restaurants, but they are few and far between . . . then I discovered Viet House! Hands down, the very best I've had in the 8 years that I've lived in Virginia! We had an appetizer of "goi cuon"/shrimp rolls (they call "summer rolls" on the menu) with the sweet hoison dipping sauce, sprinkled with chopped peanuts. They were incredible! My wife, our daughter and I all had lemon chicken vermicelli noodle bowls, topped with sliced spring rolls. Delicious!!! Be warned, although only $9- (normal price for the same meal at most Vietnamese restaurants) the portion sizes here are ENORMOUS! We all wound up finishing less than half and having to get boxes! Service was great and very quick. Our daughter attends college nearby at George Mason and can't wait to bring her friends there! We can't wait to visit her and have another meal! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viet House also viewed

 

Been to Viet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viet House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.