We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly bland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minerva Indian Cusine

Minerva Indian Cusine
10364 Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22030-2204
(703) 383-9200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 346 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet
Northern VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointingly bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I like my spices and didn't enjoy the lunch buffet as much as at other Indian restaurants (Curry Mantra esp). Less flavorful than I had hoped.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sunday buffet was a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Chitanya, who grew up north of Mumbai until he was15, told my daughter and I about Minerva. His family would drive up from Woodbridge to have a family gathering at Minerva. My wife. My youngest son, my daughter and Chitanya went on 2-10-2013. On a 1-10 scale it was a 12!! Such a large variety to choose from and the employees were very polite and attentive when we asked questions. I love Indian food and this,ace has over 25 items on the buffet so anyone can find something they enjoy.
What was surprising was the fruit desert with an icy yogurt over fruits. It was so chilled it reminded me of ice cream.
I will definitely be coming again, and again. Bon appetite!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is great. We visit regularly, mainly for the fantastic buffet. The only problem with the buffet is that I cannot stop eating. The food is fresh and spicy. Get there when the buffet opens or you will have a wait. Dinners are also OK, but the service can be spotty. The restaurant does not look too clean, but the food is always outstanding.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The Indian buffet for Lunch is a must go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We attended the indian buffet that they offer for lunch and this is excellent value for money. You can help yourself with more than 20 different indian dishes and a couple of indian-chinese dishes. The food is good, which is also witnessed by the presence of many patrons which where of indian origin. The set up is simple (paper towels and no tablecloth) but what gets in the plate compensate for it. For 2 adults+2children plus 2 sodas we got 51usd (excluding tip).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was prepared to really like Minerva, since an acquaintance who is of Indian descent thought highly of it. Honestly, the food wasn't as good as other local Indian restaurants we've been to. The rogan josh and the lamb boti kabob were both overcooked and very dry, even with the sauce on the rogan josh. The vegetable samosas were tasty but had very little filling in them. The maitre d's kept coming over to ask how the meal was. We were lukewarm with our answers, but they kept asking as if they asked enough we would change our minds. There was a large pull down screen in the front of the restaurant showing an Indian TV show, and a flat screen on a wall playing the same sort of Bollywood-TV show, which was very distracting. We thought maybe it was movie night at the restaurant. It's not a sports bar, but patrons couldn't help but turn their eyes toward the TV, even though they were there ostensibly to have a nice dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minerva Indian Cusine also viewed

 

Been to Minerva Indian Cusine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minerva Indian Cusine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.