We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older crowd, but worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Iguana

Blue Iguana
12727 Shoppes Lane, Fairfax, VA 22033-3834
703 502 8108
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #138 of 340 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Older crowd, but worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were the only people under the age of 50, but don't let that scare you away. The prices are great! for $9 I got a huge club sandwich made with roasted turkey and ham (as in, not lunch meat). It was delicious, and I only ate half of it. There are several options for sides if you don't want fries. My husband had the Chicken Paillard on the red skin mashed potatoes. He chose the clam chowder and a slice it Tres Leches cake as the sides. That alone should give you an idea of the interesting options on the menu. I'm not sure why this place wasn't busier. It is in a sort of strip mall, and has some outdoor seating. They even give you bread and olive oil with lunch. Ask for Helmut as you waiter : )

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    19
    12
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Best I have had and Helmut, our server, was the bet server I have ever had. We never asked for a single thing. The food was amazingly good. I would definitely eat here all the time if I lived closer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good times, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

During the week for lunch or dinner or their extensive Sunday brunch, the Blue Iguana is a Fair Lakes institution. Friendly atmosphere and good food. With late night DJs and Tuesday karioke, there;s always something going on there. The bar is totally separate from the dining room, so you can enjoy a meal quietly, if you wish. Ian, Josh, Miles, Ben, and Kelly bartend at night and Kathy during the day. They are friendly, personable, and a lot of fun. Watch for the weekly dinner specials - they are a great value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar, Older Crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ian the bartender makes excellent "sour patch kids" shots. My roommate and I live just up the street and used to go all the time. A good local find to grab a few drinks. The quesadillas are pretty good for bar food, but I've never actually eaten at the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, but a miss on the meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great service and help wait staff helped make the Blue Iguana a enjoyable experience overall, but the food wasn't great. We ordered the 'Crispy Fried Calamari' to start. The calamari was crisp and fresh, yet there was a pool of grease at the bottom of the plate that could have been easily dried before serving - as a result, we ate less than 1/2 the serving. The fish was well prepared, but the tomato ragout was less than appealing. Similarly, the peach cobbler contained fresh peaches, yet the 'cobbler' was more like a big block of spice cake on top of sauteed peaches than actual cobbler.

The restaurant itself is well maintained, clean, and easily accessible. There are some tables on the outside patio for those looking to enjoy the sun. Overall, an average experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Blue Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.