We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar, Older Crowd”
Review of Blue Iguana

12727 Shoppes Lane, Fairfax, VA 22033-3834
703 502 8108
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #138 of 340 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    19
    12
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Blue Iguana
See the most recent reviews
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar, Older Crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ian the bartender makes excellent "sour patch kids" shots. My roommate and I live just up the street and used to go all the time. A good local find to grab a few drinks. The quesadillas are pretty good for bar food, but I've never actually eaten at the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, but a miss on the meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great service and help wait staff helped make the Blue Iguana a enjoyable experience overall, but the food wasn't great. We ordered the 'Crispy Fried Calamari' to start. The calamari was crisp and fresh, yet there was a pool of grease at the bottom of the plate that could have been easily dried before serving - as a result, we ate less than 1/2 the serving. The fish was well prepared, but the tomato ragout was less than appealing. Similarly, the peach cobbler contained fresh peaches, yet the 'cobbler' was more like a big block of spice cake on top of sauteed peaches than actual cobbler.

The restaurant itself is well maintained, clean, and easily accessible. There are some tables on the outside patio for those looking to enjoy the sun. Overall, an average experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was our first visit to the Blue Iguana. The food was good, but certainly nothing to right home about. They have a "stimulus package" special where you choose three courses from a list of preselected items for $19.99. My husband went for that because he felt it was the best deal. I had the spinach salad with chicken. My children had chicken fingers and fries. Everyone had the same reaction to the food - good, but not great. My children said that McDonalds has better chicken fingers and fries. We most likely will not return because there are too many other restaurants in the area to go back to an average one. Also, even though they have a children's menu, you can tell that they don't cater to children (no coloring pages or anything to entertain them while they wait).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The restaurant was average, but the owner seemed nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food in a quiet corner of Fairfax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Lunched with a girl friend, and was really impressed with their 3 course lunch special for $9.99 served within 15 min to support the working lunch crowd - my baked cod, jasmine rice, and grilled asparagus were wonderful, the waiter was sensitive and responsive to my concerns over my food allergies, and my request for fruit vs a desert brought a lovely bowl of perfectly cut fresh fruit. It was so good I brought my husband the next night - his macadamia crusted cod with crab risotto was fabulous, my burger was melt-in-you-mouth tender and juicy, and once again they were glad to substitute fresh fruit for the fries that would normally have been served with my meal. I enjoyed a Brooklyn Brown Ale, and my husbands 2010 7 Oaks Cab was surprisingly good (we're usually disappointed over wine when we dine out, but not tonight!) While the food is served beautifully (upscale American), the atmosphere is relaxed, the service is attentive, and the prices won't bust the bank. We enjoyed the original watercolors that are displayed along the walls. The bar was a definite after-work hangout (it was much more crowded even at 6:30pm than the restaurant), and overall had a fun vibe. We'll go again!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Blue Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.