We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Day dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Iguana

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Iguana
12727 Shoppes Lane, Fairfax, VA 22033-3834
703 502 8108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 346 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Valentines Day dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was the second time we went here the first was 10 yrs ago. We went for Valentines Day and had to take our 19 months old daughter. They had a price fix dinner that you could pick from 4 or 5 choices from apperitizers then entrees and dessert. They also served a great Tuscany bread with pesto and oil to start with when we were waiting for the dinner to be served. They were very nice and accomodated us with a homemade child cup with a lid and straw made from a takeout soup bowl. Our daughter proceeded to work the room going from table to table letting everyone hold her. She is very small and looks like a doll so everyone always wants to touch and holdher. One older man said it made his Valentines Day to see her. Everything we ordered was very very good. It was an excellent night starting from the time we walked in and the matre de welcomed us and wished us a Happy Valentines Day to the time we left an hr later with happy and very full bellys. This is not a family type place but, they do accomodate. It would be a great place for a date night or just a nice dinner out with a spouse or a group of friends.
Excellent food and very tenative wait staff. They also had a bar there. The dress is casual but, not jeans and a tshirt maybe jeans and a button down shirt would be good or dressier.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    20
    16
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I love to go here for a special occasion. The host is always very nice, as well as the waiters. I like the atmosphere, it is relaxing but elegant. The food is always superb. I especially love the bread with a unique oil/cheese blend for dipping. Every entree we have ordered we have enjoyed. I have ordered the seafood pasta, scallops, and steaks before and always enjoyed them. I'm not sure if they still have the same seafood pasta on the menu that they used to have, since it's been a little while since I've been there, but I remember it being exceptional! We go every year for my birthday and I'm looking forward to April and another beautiful meal there. Highly recommended!! Oh, and we tried the Sunday brunch once and it was good but not great, and we didn't think it was worth the trip. Aside from the brunch - we love this place!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

A quirky restaurant - off the beaten paty - good food - if you eat outside it will be smokey - ate here over New Years Eve and the fix price menu was good. Family friendly and the wait staff seems happy to be working there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Off The Beaten Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great food. Interesting menu. Love eating there. It's small but just has a different byt good feel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We have eaten there for both lunch and dinner. The sandwiches and the entree salads are a better choice than the burgers and it is a tad expensive for lunch, about $13 per person plus drinks and tip. It is much more of a bargain for dinner with very good entrees at reasonable prices. Service is excellent.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Blue Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.