We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Iguana

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Iguana
12727 Shoppes Lane, Fairfax, VA 22033-3834
703 502 8108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I love to go here for a special occasion. The host is always very nice, as well as the waiters. I like the atmosphere, it is relaxing but elegant. The food is always superb. I especially love the bread with a unique oil/cheese blend for dipping. Every entree we have ordered we have enjoyed. I have ordered the seafood pasta, scallops, and steaks before and always enjoyed them. I'm not sure if they still have the same seafood pasta on the menu that they used to have, since it's been a little while since I've been there, but I remember it being exceptional! We go every year for my birthday and I'm looking forward to April and another beautiful meal there. Highly recommended!! Oh, and we tried the Sunday brunch once and it was good but not great, and we didn't think it was worth the trip. Aside from the brunch - we love this place!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    19
    13
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

A quirky restaurant - off the beaten paty - good food - if you eat outside it will be smokey - ate here over New Years Eve and the fix price menu was good. Family friendly and the wait staff seems happy to be working there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Off The Beaten Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great food. Interesting menu. Love eating there. It's small but just has a different byt good feel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We have eaten there for both lunch and dinner. The sandwiches and the entree salads are a better choice than the burgers and it is a tad expensive for lunch, about $13 per person plus drinks and tip. It is much more of a bargain for dinner with very good entrees at reasonable prices. Service is excellent.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Dining in Fairfax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This restaurant has great food, and the service is fantastic!! There are weekend specials based on market availability of seafood. They will gladly substitute and adjust any item ordered. It is a little pricey, but the food is definitely worth it!! On Sunday mornings, they have a delicious brunch buffet, which you can add Mimosas and Bloody Marys to for a small charge!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.