We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chutzpah Real New York Deli

Chutzpah Real New York Deli
12214 Fairfax Towne Ctr, Fairfax, VA 22033-2877
703-385-8883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 326 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Delicious deli classics - thick,moist bagels w/hearty portions of cream cheese. On every table is a jar of real deli mustard. The wait staff is friendly and accommodating - easily customized our dishes w/out hesitation or making us feel like it was gonna be an issue... and they came out right!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    12
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Not crazy about it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Got a BLT and the bacon was very undercooked. Also ordered chicken noodle soup and it was nothing special. I heard a lot of co-workers raving about this place, but I left feeling unimpressed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
“Dont waste your money here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had lunch at the Fairfax VA deli. I ordered a ruben which was toasted but the corned beef on the inside was cold as if right out the refregerator. The waitress inquired how are meal was and i let her know that the meat was cold (grossly cold to the touch). However she did nothing to remedy this. This was a very disapointing experience and I wasted my money here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“nickle and dime you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was ok, not special. Both my husband and i had to pay and extra $2 each if we wanted fries with our meal.... you're already charging $10 for a sandwich and you still add a fee for fries...plus once we got the fries they were burnt and dark brown (not worth $4).
Nothing special for a deli just regular subs and stuff and i wouldnt normally bother with the price....but really for two sandwiches and 1 coke it should not be $30...also the place looked dirty and i couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great coleslaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have eaten there twice but have ordered takeout coleslaw numerous times. Their coleslaw is as good as Artie's in NYC. The sandwiches are big enough for two to dine on.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutzpah Real New York Deli also viewed

 

Been to Chutzpah Real New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chutzpah Real New York Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.