We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”
Review of Chutzpah Real New York Deli

12214 Fairfax Towne Ctr, Fairfax, VA 22033-2877
703-385-8883
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #95 of 341 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    11
    14
    7
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Chutzpah Real New York Deli
See the most recent reviews
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Delicious deli classics - thick,moist bagels w/hearty portions of cream cheese. On every table is a jar of real deli mustard. The wait staff is friendly and accommodating - easily customized our dishes w/out hesitation or making us feel like it was gonna be an issue... and they came out right!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not crazy about it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Got a BLT and the bacon was very undercooked. Also ordered chicken noodle soup and it was nothing special. I heard a lot of co-workers raving about this place, but I left feeling unimpressed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
“Dont waste your money here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had lunch at the Fairfax VA deli. I ordered a ruben which was toasted but the corned beef on the inside was cold as if right out the refregerator. The waitress inquired how are meal was and i let her know that the meat was cold (grossly cold to the touch). However she did nothing to remedy this. This was a very disapointing experience and I wasted my money here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“nickle and dime you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was ok, not special. Both my husband and i had to pay and extra $2 each if we wanted fries with our meal.... you're already charging $10 for a sandwich and you still add a fee for fries...plus once we got the fries they were burnt and dark brown (not worth $4).
Nothing special for a deli just regular subs and stuff and i wouldnt normally bother with the price....but really for two sandwiches and 1 coke it should not be $30...also the place looked dirty and i couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great coleslaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have eaten there twice but have ordered takeout coleslaw numerous times. Their coleslaw is as good as Artie's in NYC. The sandwiches are big enough for two to dine on.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutzpah Real New York Deli also viewed

 

Been to Chutzpah Real New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chutzpah Real New York Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.