We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not crazy about it...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chutzpah Real New York Deli

Chutzpah Real New York Deli
12214 Fairfax Towne Ctr, Fairfax, VA 22033-2877
703-385-8883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Marshall, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Not crazy about it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Got a BLT and the bacon was very undercooked. Also ordered chicken noodle soup and it was nothing special. I heard a lot of co-workers raving about this place, but I left feeling unimpressed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

49% Recommend
    12
    14
    9
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
“Dont waste your money here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had lunch at the Fairfax VA deli. I ordered a ruben which was toasted but the corned beef on the inside was cold as if right out the refregerator. The waitress inquired how are meal was and i let her know that the meat was cold (grossly cold to the touch). However she did nothing to remedy this. This was a very disapointing experience and I wasted my money here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nickle and dime you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was ok, not special. Both my husband and i had to pay and extra $2 each if we wanted fries with our meal.... you're already charging $10 for a sandwich and you still add a fee for fries...plus once we got the fries they were burnt and dark brown (not worth $4).
Nothing special for a deli just regular subs and stuff and i wouldnt normally bother with the price....but really for two sandwiches and 1 coke it should not be $30...also the place looked dirty and i couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great coleslaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have eaten there twice but have ordered takeout coleslaw numerous times. Their coleslaw is as good as Artie's in NYC. The sandwiches are big enough for two to dine on.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I were hungry for something we couldn't find on the west coast, something east coast and authentic. We were driving around and came across this deli and we were so excited, being Jewish ourselves, so we stopped in for a bite. We were treated like family and the food was delicious! We would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chutzpah Real New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chutzpah Real New York Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.