We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its prime” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 29 Diner

29 Diner
10536 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-3104
+1 703-352-0029
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 337 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are "new" owners and we are honored to be stewarding the 29 Diner! We cleaned her up greatly and have an amazing southern cooking head chef, who specializes in home cooked, comfort, diner food. We hope you stop in and give us a try. John
Washington DC
Level Contributor
364 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Past its prime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nostalgia can only get you so far. This tired looking spot serves average food in a diner setting. OK for a quick meal, but there are better options nearby.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sailingboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good basic fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Small diner as I remembered from childhood. The cook prepared food quickly and to order. The waiter could have been a bit friendlier.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucson_AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Great American food, great prices, great service. Loved it!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Esprix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skip It”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I love diners and diner food. My wife and I seek them out. This one, though its got all the makings of being good (atmosphere, etc.), its not. The food is simply not good and is uninteresting. The specials were neither special nor inexpensive. Example: one of the specials was a Hash and cheese omelet. However, the hash isn't homemade, its the out of the can stuff. I asked for well-done poached eggs (I don't like runny whites). Easy enough to make, but they came to the table looking like runny egg jello. I pointed it out, and they took them away but didn't offer to make new ones, just returned with dry scrampled eggs. Secondly, its rather expensive. So, why go here? Food isn't interesting, it isn't cheap, and the service is marginal. Other than the atmosphere, it exactly what a diner shouldn't be. Go search elsewhere, unfortunately.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikerc_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Good Old Fashioned Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stop in if your hungry for some good old fashioned food. If in the area for breakfast, I'll always get their pancakes - they're enormous and delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Frumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 Diner also viewed

 

Been to 29 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing