We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its prime” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 29 Diner

29 Diner
10536 Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22030-3104
(703) 591-6720
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #210 of 341 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Washington DC
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Past its prime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nostalgia can only get you so far. This tired looking spot serves average food in a diner setting. OK for a quick meal, but there are better options nearby.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    5
    9
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good basic fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Small diner as I remembered from childhood. The cook prepared food quickly and to order. The waiter could have been a bit friendlier.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Great American food, great prices, great service. Loved it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Skip It”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I love diners and diner food. My wife and I seek them out. This one, though its got all the makings of being good (atmosphere, etc.), its not. The food is simply not good and is uninteresting. The specials were neither special nor inexpensive. Example: one of the specials was a Hash and cheese omelet. However, the hash isn't homemade, its the out of the can stuff. I asked for well-done poached eggs (I don't like runny whites). Easy enough to make, but they came to the table looking like runny egg jello. I pointed it out, and they took them away but didn't offer to make new ones, just returned with dry scrampled eggs. Secondly, its rather expensive. So, why go here? Food isn't interesting, it isn't cheap, and the service is marginal. Other than the atmosphere, it exactly what a diner shouldn't be. Go search elsewhere, unfortunately.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Good Old Fashioned Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stop in if your hungry for some good old fashioned food. If in the area for breakfast, I'll always get their pancakes - they're enormous and delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 Diner also viewed

 

Been to 29 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.