We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its prime” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 29 Diner

29 Diner
10536 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-3104
+1 703-352-0029
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 355 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: We are "new" owners and we are honored to be stewarding the 29 Diner! We cleaned her up greatly and have an amazing southern cooking head chef, who specializes in home cooked, comfort, diner food. We hope you stop in and give us a try. John
Washington DC
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Past its prime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nostalgia can only get you so far. This tired looking spot serves average food in a diner setting. OK for a quick meal, but there are better options nearby.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good basic fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Small diner as I remembered from childhood. The cook prepared food quickly and to order. The waiter could have been a bit friendlier.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Great American food, great prices, great service. Loved it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Skip It”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I love diners and diner food. My wife and I seek them out. This one, though its got all the makings of being good (atmosphere, etc.), its not. The food is simply not good and is uninteresting. The specials were neither special nor inexpensive. Example: one of the specials was a Hash and cheese omelet. However, the hash isn't homemade, its the out of the can stuff. I asked for well-done poached eggs (I don't like runny whites). Easy enough to make, but they came to the table looking like runny egg jello. I pointed it out, and they took them away but didn't offer to make new ones, just returned with dry scrampled eggs. Secondly, its rather expensive. So, why go here? Food isn't interesting, it isn't cheap, and the service is marginal. Other than the atmosphere, it exactly what a diner shouldn't be. Go search elsewhere, unfortunately.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Good Old Fashioned Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stop in if your hungry for some good old fashioned food. If in the area for breakfast, I'll always get their pancakes - they're enormous and delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 29 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.