We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet someone special here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artie's Incorporated

Artie's Incorporated
3260 Old Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22030-1502
(703) 273-7600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 348 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since 1978, Fairfax City's most popular restaurant. Enjoy boathouse favorites surrounded by handcrafted wooden boat scale models and Jack Gable's view of Lake Winnipesaukee.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Meet someone special here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We always love to go back to Artie's because the food is good and it was where my wife and I met for our first Match.com date, several years ago.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    89
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Top Choice in Fairfax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Artie's in our first choice when going out for a nice dinner. The food is absolutely delicious--we've yet to order anything that hasn't exceeded our expectations. The lobster bisque is so yummy! And the crab cakes are wonderful--just enough moisture to keep them together and still enjoy the taste of the crab! The waiters are attentive to every detail from start to finish, plus the decor is inviting and interesting. Definitely do call-ahead seating because everyone in Fairfax loves this restaurant! We give this 5 stars without question!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I had a meal at Artie's the first day they opened in the mid eighties, and was impressed by the quality of their food and service. That experience has been confirmed by hundreds of visits over the years. Artie's was the first of the Great American Restaurants. Their huge success is well deserved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice Upscale Restaurant in Fairfax VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a nice place for date night or for an upscale dinner. It gets seriously crowded on the weekends so a reservation is recommened or you may have to wait up to 30 minutes. The goat cheese and pecan salad is very good. Went there with friends after bowling at the nearby BowlAmerica for drinks and nibbles in late December. The drinks were ok, the nibbles were good but pricy ($9-10 each for calamari and spinch dip).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited on a Friday night and did the "call ahead seating". We arrived at 6:00 p.m. and got immediately seated. Good thing we got there when we did, since there was a lot of people waiting afterwards. The restaurant is a bit noisy but not horrible. We had fantastic service by our waiter Patric. The bread basket was excellent and the butter they bring is to die for (similiar to the same bread basket as you get at Sweetwaters another chain in the same restaurant). We split the southwest egg rolls and the salad with steak. Both were exceptional but for the cost of the salad a larger portion might be warranted. We also split a bottle of wine. Tab came to $54. Only problem we had was another waiter (they work in teams) brought our check to us while we were still finishing out wine and before we asked for it. Felt like he was rushing us to turn the table. Patric immediately came over and apologized. When the other waiter brought us our charge slip for my husband's signature he swapped credit cards and brought us some other ladies credit card and gave her my husband's. Patric (the waiter) immediately rectified the situation and assured that our meal was properly charged to our credit card and retrieved our credit card. It was a really nice evening and it was a shame that a careless waiter made the evening end this way. That is why I could only give a very good for service and overall rating instead of an excellent. Will go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artie's Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Artie's Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artie's Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.