We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Upscale Restaurant in Fairfax VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artie's Incorporated

Artie's Incorporated
3260 Old Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22030-1502
(703) 273-7600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 348 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since 1978, Fairfax City's most popular restaurant. Enjoy boathouse favorites surrounded by handcrafted wooden boat scale models and Jack Gable's view of Lake Winnipesaukee.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice Upscale Restaurant in Fairfax VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a nice place for date night or for an upscale dinner. It gets seriously crowded on the weekends so a reservation is recommened or you may have to wait up to 30 minutes. The goat cheese and pecan salad is very good. Went there with friends after bowling at the nearby BowlAmerica for drinks and nibbles in late December. The drinks were ok, the nibbles were good but pricy ($9-10 each for calamari and spinch dip).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    90
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited on a Friday night and did the "call ahead seating". We arrived at 6:00 p.m. and got immediately seated. Good thing we got there when we did, since there was a lot of people waiting afterwards. The restaurant is a bit noisy but not horrible. We had fantastic service by our waiter Patric. The bread basket was excellent and the butter they bring is to die for (similiar to the same bread basket as you get at Sweetwaters another chain in the same restaurant). We split the southwest egg rolls and the salad with steak. Both were exceptional but for the cost of the salad a larger portion might be warranted. We also split a bottle of wine. Tab came to $54. Only problem we had was another waiter (they work in teams) brought our check to us while we were still finishing out wine and before we asked for it. Felt like he was rushing us to turn the table. Patric immediately came over and apologized. When the other waiter brought us our charge slip for my husband's signature he swapped credit cards and brought us some other ladies credit card and gave her my husband's. Patric (the waiter) immediately rectified the situation and assured that our meal was properly charged to our credit card and retrieved our credit card. It was a really nice evening and it was a shame that a careless waiter made the evening end this way. That is why I could only give a very good for service and overall rating instead of an excellent. Will go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Reliably Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Artie's never disappoints. This is my favorite restaurant in the Washington, DC, metropolitan area. Here's what you need to know: in my book, this restaurant sets the gold standard for service, food quality, menu simplicity, decor, and even price. Perhaps to the detriment of other establishments, I tend to compare everyone to Artie's. We always take family and friends and it has always been a wonderful experience. We will return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgina
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Old reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We moved away a bit, but we go back every so often just because the place is so simple and easy. Food is always good, and service is friendly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Arties is our restaurant of choice when we want to take guests to a moderately priced-restaurant and be certain they will enjoy the food and experience. The menu variety gives everyone, even our vegetarian friends, plenty of choices. We ALWAYS call about an hour ahead, however, to put our name on their list to avoid a long wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artie's Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Artie's Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artie's Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.