We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artie's Incorporated

Artie's Incorporated
3260 Old Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22030-1502
(703) 273-7600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 349 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since 1978, Fairfax City's most popular restaurant. Enjoy boathouse favorites surrounded by handcrafted wooden boat scale models and Jack Gable's view of Lake Winnipesaukee.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Arties is our restaurant of choice when we want to take guests to a moderately priced-restaurant and be certain they will enjoy the food and experience. The menu variety gives everyone, even our vegetarian friends, plenty of choices. We ALWAYS call about an hour ahead, however, to put our name on their list to avoid a long wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    90
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Okay - I am a regular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Consistently outstanding service, consistently outstanding food and consistently outstanding bar ... I am very fortunate to have been a customer of Arties for over 20 years now. They have the entire recipe right ... how they achieve consistency in great food and staff I will never know, but it brings me back over and over again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great prime rib and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Artie's serves a huge cut of prime rib on the weekend only. It is on the menu as "blackened" but they will serve it conventionally. It is slow roasted and then placed under the broiler for brief grilling. We have been there several times over the years and have been disappointed only when they ran out of prime rib before 7:30. Servings are huge and can be shared.
Waitstaff and management are wonderful. One time when they ran out of Prime Rib early on a saturday they offered us gift certificates for full meals so that we could return and not be disappointed.
They do not take reservations, but do offer the option of calling ahead so that you can be put on the wait list prior to your arrival.
It is a long drive for us, but has always been a real treat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good food, reasonably priced. Get there early on Friday/Saturday or long wait. Family friendly. Free parking.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Consistantly Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Arties for well over 20 years. We love many menu items but we really love the consistantly great food prep and service. We have never had a bad experience at Arties! Their Salmon plank dinner is just fabulous and the accompanying sauce is wonderful. Their Caeser salad is one of the best around. Prime Rib, ribs, ribeye steaks, soup and side dishes are the best. And, it is always the best. You never go and get bad service, a tough or tasteless steak or a bad salad. They must really work hard on being consistant and it shows. Even our 8 year old granddaughter finds Arties to be her favorite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artie's Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Artie's Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artie's Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.