We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arties's

Arties's
3260 Old Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22030-1502
17032737600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 337 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1978, Fairfax City's most popular restaurant. Enjoy boathouse favorites surrounded by handcrafted wooden boat scale models and Jack Gable's view of Lake Winnipesaukee.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistantly Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Arties for well over 20 years. We love many menu items but we really love the consistantly great food prep and service. We have never had a bad experience at Arties! Their Salmon plank dinner is just fabulous and the accompanying sauce is wonderful. Their Caeser salad is one of the best around. Prime Rib, ribs, ribeye steaks, soup and side dishes are the best. And, it is always the best. You never go and get bad service, a tough or tasteless steak or a bad salad. They must really work hard on being consistant and it shows. Even our 8 year old granddaughter finds Arties to be her favorite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lived up to prior reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Found this restaurant on Trip Advisors and was impressed by the reviews. We were a party of three and we all felt the food was well-prepared and tasty. The drink service could have been better. Coffee refills were slow and a mixed drink that was ordered did not arrive until we asked another waiter, then it took another ten minutes. All in all though, the food was terrific. Would definitely eat there again.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen23039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osterville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Go For the Crab Cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Overall a great experience, good service and food. The crab cakes are fantastic and are actually large enough to split. Order a chopped salad and split the cakes. Great meal. Call ahead and they will put you on the list.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClassicCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“my favorite spot in Fairfax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Be prepared for a wait but it is worth it. You can smell the food cooking on your way. I have never had anything there that I wouldn't have again and the rolls from Best Buns-YUM!! Can be pricey but worth every penny. Also, nice wine list.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank beaches4me22031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to meet friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The menu has a good variety and is consistently good. I have enjoyed their brunch for years. The staff also makes dining there a pleasure.

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arties's also viewed

 

Been to Arties's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing