We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Southern Italian cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
10824 Lee Hwy., Fairfax, VA 22030-4306
703-385-1530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very good Southern Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice southern Italian (Naplitano) restaurant. It doesn't look like much on the outside, but it is well worth a stop. Each of us thoroughly enjoyed our dinners. I had the Lasagna - very nice: noodles are al dente, good balance of sauce, ricotta, cheese and the sausage is nicely spiced. A well-balanced meal. Others in our party had tortellini and gnocchi - also well-enjoyed. Prices are very reasonable and the value is worth the cost. Service is very good - attentive and brought everything quickly when requested. We'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    55
    37
    16
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Still great after 18 years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have followed this owner for more than the 18 years he has had Dolce Vita. And we are never disappointed with our visits there. You could easily pass it by in the traffic but it is worth looking for it to have a good meal. This visit was for lunch and our party had hot sandwiches and pasta dishes and everyone was delighted. But we still decided to have dessert and each had something different and all of the plates were clean! Dolce Vita is celebrating 18 years and had mailed us a coupon for 18% off our meal as well. Recommend this over the big chain restaurants if you want good Italian food and excellent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND WINE, RUSTIC AND A LITTLE NOISY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This week for lunch I had a very good meat Lasagna and an excellent glass of Italian wine. The main dish comes with a tasty salad. My friend enjoyed a great red and another pasta dish. The service here is excellent. The drawback for a hearing impaired person or noise sensitive person is relatively high noise level of the place. To compensate, I sat in the back. The men's restrooom is one at a time and needs to be upgraded. The place seems to be very authentic Italian. I have been here three times so I rank the food better than the downsides. TIP: Sit in the the back near a corner away from the restroom. Try the Lasagna. To avoid the noise element, come either early or late for lunch and for dinner I would come early.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oh my! Two amazing meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this little gem! So much so, that we went twice in one week! The first night we went, we had pasta dishes. The pasta was fresh and the sauces so creamy. We had some Amaretto Cake for dessert that was extremely light and delicious. The second time we went, we splurged a little and got Salmone Alla Erbe and Pollo Milanese. It was fabulous! We had Amaretto Cake again and also got a Chocolate Bomb for dessert. We were not disappointed with anything, and the service was great! We were also serenaded by a strolling guitarist, which made the experience even more enjoyable. If we are ever in Fairfax again, it will definitely be on the itinerary!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I was not impressed. The atmosphere was great, service was okay, but the food was nothing special. It was disappointing since it was rated so high.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.