We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIQUE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mediterranean Bistro

Le Mediterranean Bistro
4008 University Drive, Fairfax, VA
(703) 383-1553
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Mediterranean Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 355 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Old City Hall
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTIQUE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have dined at this bistro many times and it is among our favorites. The food is reliably delicious, service is very good, and the atmosphere is lovely. We treated ourselves and 20 family members to a dinner here on a Monday evening in late June. To ease things, we had four selections from which our party could choose. The food was, as always, superb. The wine was very good. The rack of lamb was a big hit and most of us enjoyed that specialty. The small scallops were not as scrumptious as the larger ones which we have enjoyed on several occasions, but they were still tasty. Salads and desserts were delish! Service became a challenge as the restaurant regular customers vied for attention. BUT, with an appeal to management, they redoubled efforts and we enjoyed a wonderful dinner still meeting our timetable before our next event. Great place to treat yourself and others!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
springfield, virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We really enjoyed the whole experience at this bistro, from the charming atmosphere to the service and food. We were there in the middle of the afternoon for a late lunch and were fortunate to have the undivided attention of our charming server.
Smoked salmon appetizer was delicious and beautiful to look at !! My picky husband loved the scallops and risotto and I enjoyed the sea bass.
I could imagine that it would feel quite festive if the restaurant were full.
We'll be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Seriously fine food, in a comfortable and friendly location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a very fine meal here last week. Everything that we had - from appetizers through desert was top-flight. We had the finest, butternut squash ravioli we have ever had, along with truly superb scallops. Service was friendly and attentive. The wine list was solid, and fairly priced. I'd make a point of eating here again the next time I visit Fairfax.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“We'll be back again soon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Last night we tried this attractive little bistro in the heart of Fairfax City. We were both in the mood for lamb and were very satisfied with two different treatments - lamb chops for my husband and a tagine with a lamb shank and couscous for me. The staff was friendly and attentive, the food was perfectly prepared, and the tariff was reasonable. We are happy to have another good local place to add to our "go to" restaurant list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The sauces were out of this world, the meat and fish were excellent quality, perfectly prepared. The bread was heaven with the herbed butter. The waiter was very charming and knowledgeable about the dishes and ingredients. Other reviewers were not so kind. Not sure what their complaints were for, because we had the best meal we've had in a long time. This is a can't miss restaurant for anyone in the vicinity of George Mason University. French and Moroccan style cuisine. I've had both, never mixed before. The ratatouille had the most wonderful Moroccan flavor. Nutty, smokey and tomatoes veggies. Yum! I had the rock-fish with white asparagus risotto. Delicately crisp skin, moist flesh, tangy risotto. My husband had the rack of lamb with pistachio and ratatouille. Tender lamb chops with pistachio and mustard sauce. The dessert was "berry tiramisu" which was served like a parfait. Beautiful, sweet-tangy and delicious. The coffee was dark and smooth. What a wonderful experience. We'll be back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Le Mediterranean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mediterranean Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.