We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service in a cozy place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mediterranean Bistro

Le Mediterranean Bistro
4008 University Drive, Fairfax, VA
(703) 383-1553
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Mediterranean Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 348 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Old City Hall
Reston
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service in a cozy place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The meal was outstanding. I had the beet salad with goat cheese as an appetizer and it was excellent. My main course was salmon over a vegetable medley that was so tasty!!! It was perfectly prepared and presented. The place is cozy, on the smallish side, so make reservations. Parking is right across the street. This place is about 2 blocks from the courthouse. I would definitely go again!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Most Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

What an excellent addition to the Fairfax dining scene! Some friends introduced us to this newish restaurant and we're delighted they did. It's hidden in plain sight, and I'm sure I've driven past it numerous times. I started with lobster bisque and followed it with filet mignon over potatoes and creme brûlée. The wines selected for us were very good. Service was superb and parking was easy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A local gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It's always a pleasure to find a nice restaurant for that special occasion. You might want to get there early for the best service and selection. This is one of those places. A quick count yields about 50 seats, and those seats are nicely padded so long meals are comfortable. The food is extraordinary, if a little on the expensive side - wine is $10-11 per glass, entrees $20 and up. I had the Oxtail Ragout with Gnocchi and Sole Meuniere both of which were terrific. If you want to practice your college French, the Moroccan staff will be happy to oblige.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A New Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've been admiring this new Bistro from the outside and stopped in for lunch. The service is outstanding. The decor is very warm and friendly. The meal by chef Driss Zahidi is outstanding. Coming from neighboring McLean where he was chef at Evo Bistro, this new restaurant will most certainly gain the popularity he enjoyed previously. I was advised to try the specials as everything is fresh and local. I know I will be back frequently for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent French bistro at a moderate price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

On our first visit we found a relaxing bistro with well-prepared cuisine at a surprisingly reasonable price. Chef Zahidi is known for other venues, and I believe this bistro will be huge success in Northen Virginia. Priced from $17- 24, the dinner entrees included premium selections such as halibut, sea bass, duck and lamb. We especially enjoyed the Moroccan preparation as healthier than traditional French style. We also appreciated being able to make reservations and the convenient parking. What a great place to meet friends or host out of town guests when looking for quality and value. I can't wait to try out the lunch menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Le Mediterranean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mediterranean Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.