We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SAMURAI Japanese Steak & Sushi Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
SAMURAI Japanese Steak & Sushi Bar
10645-B Braddock Rd, Fairfax, VA 22032, Fairfax, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 360 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Bridgewater, Virginia
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The atmosphere and food were fantastic, I go here all the time. I would definitely recommend coming here for dinner!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Hibachi! A close second to Sakura!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Samurai is a great place for hibachi. While my kids love it more than Sakura, I believe it comes in a close second. Both places serve excellent quality steak, chicken, shrimp, and fried rice. Samurai serves noodles as well, which is an addition compared to other hibachi places. Also, you can usually find a GroupOn for Samurai which will save you some sheckels. Highly recommend Samurai!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Decent Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited late on a Friday night, and were the last customers at the sushi bar. For this reason I didn't expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The a la carte sushi is fairly expensive, but the quality is better than other sushi places in the vicinity. The fish was absolutely fresh, The rice was properly prepared. The rolls weren't quite as tight as they should have been, but they held together.

We had one incident that could have been serious, but wasn't in this case. We told the server that one of us was highly allergic to eggs and asked that the Chef's Choice not include those. When the sushi arrived there was tomago there with the other nigiri. Fortunately, I noticed that and traded for another kind. This could have been a problem for someone new to sushi.

Otherwise, the sushi was good, decently prepared, and very tasty. The sushi was relatively expensive with most sushi choices costing 4.95 to 5.95 for a two-piece serving of nigiri. One of their specialty rolls uses shrimp tempura, and the crust on the tempura was more soggy than it should have been.

I'd still go back since it's the only decent sushi in the immediate vicinity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telchac Puerto, Mexico
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We did the lunch buffet on a Saturday and it was a good price 9.99 and the food was fresh and tasty. The sushi was just mediocre but we didn't expect much from that portion of the buffet. Service wasn't too good. Still tasty and a good value at least at lunch and we will probably go again sometime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Surprised..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was a little skeptical at first glance. The food was really excellent and a modest price tag. Probably some of the better hibachi that I have had.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAMURAI Japanese Steak & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to SAMURAI Japanese Steak & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SAMURAI Japanese Steak & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.