We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Softie for Arts Cinemas, and This One is Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinema Arts Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cinema Arts Theatre
9650 Main Street, Fairfax, VA
(703) 978-6853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in Fairfax
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Softie for Arts Cinemas, and This One is Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Cinema Arts Theater was the only place we could find a Canadian movie my husband was interested in. We'd never been there and were surprised to find it tucked alongside a super-sized grocery store and other smaller mall occupants. It was like finding an old friend. The titles matched our "non Hollywood action movie" tastes. And speaking of taste . . . they have self-serve real butter for the popcorn. We've seen that at the Garden in Princeton NJ, but rarely elsewhere. We'll be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cinema Arts movies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

An "almost" art movie house but also first runs. Above average food. Bargain prices certain including Senior pricing on Wednesday.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location in Fairfax,VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Cinema Arts Theatre shows a variety of movies including great foreign movies not usually available in the suburbs.
Their prices are reasonable especially for Seniors and students.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great selection of films”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

They usually show highly rated films, some of which are the winners at various film festivals. Great pricing, much lower than at the chain movie theatres, and they have student and senior discounts. It is a little outdated as far as the seating and sound, but you get great value for your money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Community Cinema worth supporting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

In a world dominated by large. studio-owned chains, it's a pleasure to be able to support a locally-owned cinema that shows indie and foreign movies ignored by the big chains. Prices are always reasonable but $5 Wednesdays for Seniors are especially good for mature cinema fans like me and my wife.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinema Arts Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Cinema Arts Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinema Arts Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.