We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Movies at a Cool Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinema Arts Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cinema Arts Theatre
9650 Main Street, Fairfax, VA
(703) 978-6853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Fairfax
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cool Movies at a Cool Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is my go-to movie theatre. I love the people, I love the selection of movies ( a combination of foreign, indie and blockbusters), and the popcorn is delicious. You can't beat the prices and the seats are still comfy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Independent Movie Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great to be able to see foreign or art films without having to go into DC or Arlington. Better than average concession,s and decent prices. I like the loyalty card program too- every so often I get a free ticket or drink. Seats could use an update but the last time I was there it looked like maybe they were starting to do that. Around Oscar time, they usually show the Nominated Short Films and Animated Shorts, which I think is really cool.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Lucky to be in this Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Cinema Arts shows great movies and has a sprinkling of movies not found elsewhere. Pricing is reasonable, access is easy and the concessions are well done. Perhaps what makes this the best theater around is that they have a caring owner - frequently on site - who greets patrons and asks how they enjoyed the movie, what brought them to his little venue and what he should add to the concession menu. On our most recent trip we saw him fill several buckets with popcorn and slide into one of the theaters to top off some patrons' buckets. Still the best!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Support Independent Theater!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The only non-chain in town, and it always include a foreign or other film you would have to drive to Arlington or DC to see otherwise. BUT, the seats need replacing. The staff acts too cool for school, like they'd rather be doing anything else besides serving you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Still the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

One of the pleasures of where I live is its proximity to Cinema Arts Theater, as well as George Mason’s Performing Arts Center. We originally bought our house because it is in walking distance of Woodson High School but, as a film buff, I was also delighted when I discovered Cinema Arts just a mile from my house. At the time, Cinema Arts was the only cinema to screen independent films, documentaries, and dubbed foreign language films in all of northern Virginia. As I recall, Cinema Arts was the only venue in northern Virginia to offer “Whale Rider,” and I very much enjoyed seeing it there.

In the interim, the multiplex Fairfax Corners, offering “stadium seating,” has been built and Angelika Film Center has begun offering similar films just a few miles down the road on Route 50. Unfortunately, perhaps under pressure of Angelika’s competition, Cinema Arts seems to be screening more mainstream movies and fewer of the idiosyncratic movies appealing to a smaller audience than it used to. (As I write this, for example, it has “Lincoln,” “The Hobbit,” “Les Misérables,” “Hyde Park on the Hudson,” and “Hitchcock” on offer.) Cinema Arts does have the advantage of lower ticket prices ($6 for shows before 11 am every day of the week). It is also probably the most conveniently located movie theater for a swath of Fairfax County from Fairfax to the beltway, including Annandale, even though it is tucked away inconspicuously in a strip mall. But I do miss the high-quality films that it used to offer and hope the theater will start to offer a better mix of mainstream, commercial films and the films it once favored.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinema Arts Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Cinema Arts Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinema Arts Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.