We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelika Film Center

Angelika Film Center
8200 Strawberry Lane, Gallows Rd, Fairfax, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Fairfax
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This theater was interesting in so many ways; from the architecture to the concessions to the theaters themselves. The seats were very comfortable and the legroom was very good (I am 5'10" and have 13" feet who happens to walk with the aid of a cane so I am always looking for places to navigate my tugboats with ease). The hot dogs were great, no boring old mustard, ketchup, and relish for these babies; I had the Mexican dog and enjoyed the corn salsa, guacamole, and other fixings.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Our new hangout, fun with family and friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Angelika Film center is a fun place to hang with family, friends. there is a super huge screen outside where they show concerts, movies for free. The movie house is fun place to see the latest movies and unique movies. You can drink beer and eat gourmet popcorn. We will definitely return to see future movies.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Angelika Gift Card is USELESS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

So, when I first started going to Angelia, I was thrilled that I could avoid the stress of having to get to the theater early to stand in line to buy a ticket and than the stress of standing around so I could be in the front part of the line to get a decent seat. It was great - let's go online, pick the movie and the seat, than show up whenever we want! And avoid all of the hassles at Tysons!!

In fact, my wife loved it so much, she told all her friends. Her friends were so impressed with my wife's comments - they bought her an Angelika gift card for her birthday

But here's the problem - you can't use it to buy tickets online - making their gift cards basically useless as far as I'm concerned.

So if you happen to get an Angelika Gift Card - leave early, stand in line, and hope the movie does not sell out before you get to the counter to use their gift card.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A place like Angelika in the suburbia with selections other than mainstream movies is a pure delight. Their concession stand also offers great food and drink that one would not expect at most movie theaters, definitely added to the movie going experience. The cafe on the ground level makes a good cup of joe, even better than their sister establishment at NYC...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Odd Property Design”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Access to this property is confusing, in all respects.

The handicapped ramp runs from the rear of the building back to the front. An odd and difficult configuration, but I guess it meets code.

The lines for the seat selection/ticketing process are confusing. Is there one line, or two? No one seemed to know how best to navigate it in an equitable fashion.

The doors to the theaters themselves are quite narrow - 30 or 36 inch single doors. Would be very concerned about needing to exit rapidly through such a small opening.

Road traffic is aggressive in the crossing from the garage to the theater. Pedestrian walkway markings are absent.

One suggestion for the management is to enhance the seat selection process with photographs, similar to how some stadium seats are sold for sports venues.

End result of experience getting into theater was a somewhat grumpy attitude. No food service evident. May have been on another level of the vertical experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelika Film Center also viewed

 

Been to Angelika Film Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelika Film Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.