We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new hangout, fun with family and friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angelika Film Center

Angelika Film Center
8200 Strawberry Lane, Gallows Rd, Fairfax, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 attractions in Fairfax
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Washington DC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our new hangout, fun with family and friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Angelika Film center is a fun place to hang with family, friends. there is a super huge screen outside where they show concerts, movies for free. The movie house is fun place to see the latest movies and unique movies. You can drink beer and eat gourmet popcorn. We will definitely return to see future movies.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, MD
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Angelika Gift Card is USELESS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

So, when I first started going to Angelia, I was thrilled that I could avoid the stress of having to get to the theater early to stand in line to buy a ticket and than the stress of standing around so I could be in the front part of the line to get a decent seat. It was great - let's go online, pick the movie and the seat, than show up whenever we want! And avoid all of the hassles at Tysons!!

In fact, my wife loved it so much, she told all her friends. Her friends were so impressed with my wife's comments - they bought her an Angelika gift card for her birthday

But here's the problem - you can't use it to buy tickets online - making their gift cards basically useless as far as I'm concerned.

So if you happen to get an Angelika Gift Card - leave early, stand in line, and hope the movie does not sell out before you get to the counter to use their gift card.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A place like Angelika in the suburbia with selections other than mainstream movies is a pure delight. Their concession stand also offers great food and drink that one would not expect at most movie theaters, definitely added to the movie going experience. The cafe on the ground level makes a good cup of joe, even better than their sister establishment at NYC...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Odd Property Design”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Access to this property is confusing, in all respects.

The handicapped ramp runs from the rear of the building back to the front. An odd and difficult configuration, but I guess it meets code.

The lines for the seat selection/ticketing process are confusing. Is there one line, or two? No one seemed to know how best to navigate it in an equitable fashion.

The doors to the theaters themselves are quite narrow - 30 or 36 inch single doors. Would be very concerned about needing to exit rapidly through such a small opening.

Road traffic is aggressive in the crossing from the garage to the theater. Pedestrian walkway markings are absent.

One suggestion for the management is to enhance the seat selection process with photographs, similar to how some stadium seats are sold for sports venues.

End result of experience getting into theater was a somewhat grumpy attitude. No food service evident. May have been on another level of the vertical experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A step above the rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is great and in a great location. I was skeptical when it first opened, but it has not disappointed. We have seen 3 movies there so far and definitely will be going back. At first I thought the prices were a little high until I realized that it's comparable with Tyson's or any of the other multiplexes...and you get to choose your seat when you buy your tickets...so no more getting there 30 minutes early just to avoid sitting up front. There are a number of places to eat in the new area and many more opening as we speak. They also server beer and wine, and have the new fancy soft drink dispensers with free refills. Go, it's worth the cost.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelika Film Center also viewed

 

Been to Angelika Film Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelika Film Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Angelika Film Center to your Saves list