We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and different movie options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelika Film Center

Angelika Film Center
8200 Strawberry Lane, Gallows Rd, Fairfax, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Fun & Games in Fairfax
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Modern and different movie options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We went here because it was the only place playing something different than the usual blockbuster fare. The ticket line was unexpectedly long for a pre-noon show but it moved quickly. The reserved seats were an unexpected bonus. The food options looked interesting but I only got the old standby, popcorn (good!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were excited to learn of the Angelika Film Center in Fairfax, VA, as it sounded similar to a movie theatre we visited in Del Mar, CA. The Angelika is very nice, with comfy stadium seats that you can choose and reserve online, an efficient ticketing system, and a limited food menu plus beer and wine along with a good variety of shows. However, we were hoping for the "Cineapolis Luxury Cinema" experience we had out West. Big recliners, small tables with little dim lights next to each chair (to read the menu), wide aisles so you never have to move for someone entering or exiting your aisle, online reserved seating, and waitress service for drinks and food during the whole movie! It was fabulous and we are hoping someone in the NoVA area will pick up on it and provide it here - Angelika you are on your way! (While the Angelika was $12/senior ticket + a service charge, the Cineapolis was about $20.00 - but a far more luxurious and relaxing and fun night out!)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stick with Cinema Arts in Fairfax”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went to Angelika for the first time yesterday. It was a poor experience. The movie started 20 minutes late without explanation from the management. To make up time (I assume), no previews were shown unfortunately, and fortunately no pre-movie advertisements were shown either (again with no communications from management). Finally, my dates experience in the ladies room found no soap in any of the soap dispensers nor towels to dry her hands. All for the high price of $13 per ticket.

I recommend going to Cinema Arts In Fairfax. Although less trendy, they seem to care more about the customer experience there. The owner will even speak to the theater audience to poll them on which films he should book after viewing the previews, and he will pass out free popcorn to refill your tub when he visits. He shows that he cares. All this for a much lower ticket price. I'll take less trendy & caring any time!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Can't say enough great things about this place! Wonderful little film center in Fairfax with reserved seating, great food/wine selection, comfy seats, roomy aisles, nice lounge area for intermissions, etc. Located right next to a new shopping center with many nice stores and restaurants. Will definitely go back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A fantastic new theater in Fairfax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I went to see a movie at the new theater and we were VERY impressed! Not only is the theater brand new, but has some great amenities, such as a wonderful cafe and concession stand, which serves great food as well as beer and wine! The theater is beautiful and very comfortable. We also really like that they show the big blockbuster movies as well as independant films, so lots of choices. They also give a military discount! I think we have found our new favorite theater!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelika Film Center also viewed

 

Been to Angelika Film Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelika Film Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.