We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spicy Beef dish is worth the trip alone!”
Review of Sheba Ethiopian Restaurant

3900A Pickett Rd, Fairfax, VA
Update restaurant details
Ranked #31 of 340 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Ethiopian
7 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    7
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sheba Ethiopian Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Woodbridge VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Spicy Beef dish is worth the trip alone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went out with another couple this past Saturday night to Sheba. The decor is nice. This is a small little place across the street from Fair City Mall in Fairfax.

The menu was small (which I find a good thing.. I perfer a place that does 10 things correct than 30 things sub-par).

We ordered a Vegitarian Sampler, the Lamb Tibs, The Beef (with Awaze sauce <ok.. I might be spelling that wrong>, and the Crispy Ribs.

All the sides were good. Nothing that would make me say this is a better than other place, but no complaints here.

The Ribs were very nice, the fresh jalapenos and tomatoes just added a nice layer to this finely cooked beef rib.

The lamb was good (but a bit mild for my tastes). The Beef... Oh this beef dish. Spicy enough to make you break out into a bit of a sweat, but the flavors and the balance on this was just incredible. The whole table devowered this dish and all proclaimed it the total superstar of this restuarant.

This dish alone is worth a 90 mile drive at least.

A nice choice of 2 differnet Ethiopean Beers. A nice cinnimon hint on their iced tea.

The service was friendly and polite.

Make a stop in this place! (I was trying to find the name of the beef dish on their website, but the menu at the site, is not reflective of the menu served at the restaurant for the entrees.<as of Aug 11 2013>. There are more choices in the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“genuine ethiopian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

a friend recommended and took me from DC to Sheba Restaurant, a true one and a half hour ride, but, believe me it is worth! Genuine Ethiopian dish, lovely atmosphere, very friendly staff. As we asked for something particular, we received injera bread, with a huge platter with lamb, beef, vegetables, spicy and not spicy, sprayed with ethiopian beer..... yummmie

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Ethiopian food without the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This relatively new restaurant is tucked away inside a strip mall off of Pickett. The atomosphere is lovely and the service is excellent!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Finally! A Great Ethiopian Restaurant in Fairfax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I am thrilled to have easy access to a great Ethiopian restaurant! Perfect service and great food; what else could anyone want? We ordered a lamb and onion dish and a vegetable assortment. Extra injera bread appeared when we needed it and as spice lovers, we commented and were rewarded with a nice little bowl of extra spice.

The restaurant is super clean and is very colorful and tastefully appointed. A balcony area above the main part of the restaurant is decorated in Ethiopian style with basket-tables, as can be seen in the photos uploaded.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheba Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sheba Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheba Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.