We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, fresh Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guapo's

Guapo's
13050 Fairlakes Shopping Center, Fairfax, VA 22033
703-818-0022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 360 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Chips very light, thin, homemade. Fresh salsa. Had the rosita chicken salad. Salad was just okay. Chicken well marinated and grilled. Great customer service. Bar an patio area nice bonus. Sit outside weather permitting. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Fajitas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Started out with terrific light crispy chips and salsa. They brought us more as we ran low. Gotta be careful with the chips though, you could eatvthem all day. Wife and I both had fajitas. I had the steak ribs and quail. Fantastic. Wife had chicken and steak. Delicious. All was tender and tasty. Service was excellent. Highly recommend the combo fajitas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great American Mexican Restaurant - Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I reluctantly went to Guapo's last winter when my son asked for Mexican food. I am not a fan of most of the Mexican food as they have made it so Americanized and full of calories but I changed my mind after going to Guapo's. Yes, it is an Americanized version of Mexican food but the service is better than any restaurant (any kind) in the Northern Virginia. The waiters, the managers, the cheering staff that sings for birthday wishes... everyone is unique. The songs and the music they play reminded me of the kind of music we heard when I was growing. This is one of those restaurants where you don't have to wait and chase a waiter to get a refill. They keep pouring more and you have to tell them to stop. It is always a delight to go there. Food is better than most other Mexican restaurants and it is always plenty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Guapo's is far better than On The Border or the other chains. The best part of all the Guapo's we have been is how the staff is constantly cleaning. Their restaurants are the cleanest around. The only thing about the Fair Lakes location is they don't have the rotisserie chicken, which is the best anywhere in the DC metro area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

By far, the best Mexican food I have ever had. Unlike chains such as On The Border, you can actually taste the food without loading it with that damned spicy crap. The margaritas are terrific and huge. A bit pricy compared to the dives, but worth it. Go to this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guapo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.