We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere, good food, great guapomole!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guapo's

Guapo's
13050 Fairlakes Shopping Center, Fairfax, VA 22033
703-818-0022
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #24 of 342 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, good food, great guapomole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went here last night for dinner to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were a little worried that they didn't accept reservations for Friday or Saturday nights, but our group of 10 didn't have to wait too long to be seated. The service was good, but it did take a while for us to get our drinks. The menu is full of good Mexican food options, and the 'guapomole' was a treat - tasted great! I had a chicken taco and cheese enchilada sampler, both were very good, as were the refried beans and rice. My husband had the mariscos (seafood soup-like dish, served with rice). He enjoyed the dish, but was not overwhelmed by it. Overall, this was a good restaurant to go to for a fun atmosphere (they came around and sang a birthday song for our friend and gave her a sombrero to wear!) and good Mexican food.

Tip: it is a bit loud, so this is definitely not a "romantic" or good date location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    15
    19
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Carne Asada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great service, ambiance and food! The Carne Adada was wonderful as were the plantains and the Guapo-mole. Would definitely come back next time I'm in Fairfax!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and nice atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The only place to get great Mexican food in Fairfax County! The service is great, always friendly people. The chips and salsa are awesome and the food is great. The happy hour at the bar is awesome with $3 margs and $2 beer. Don't go to don Pablo's or any other place.... Go here! The steak tacos are amazing!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a favorite Mexcian restaurant of ours. Great fajitas and wonderful service. Their seafood burrito is also delicious, as is much of their other menu items. My wife really likes their appetizer tamale and quesodilla. A great family place. We also appreciate their willingness to adapt recipes for dairy allergies.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went early on a Saturday night, which was good since the place was packed when we left. The atmosphere is jovial and can get a bit noisy. We got the carne asada fajitas and the chicken fajitas and were pleased with both. They were quite good. I had a margarita. They have two sizes and I chose the small. I was glad I did as the drink packed quite a punch. They didn't skimp on the tequila. Their chips were just as I like them: thin and crispy and the salsa was pretty good. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guapo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.