We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service and nice atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guapo's

Guapo's
13050 Fairlakes Shopping Center, Fairfax, VA 22033
703-818-0022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lansdowne, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and nice atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The only place to get great Mexican food in Fairfax County! The service is great, always friendly people. The chips and salsa are awesome and the food is great. The happy hour at the bar is awesome with $3 margs and $2 beer. Don't go to don Pablo's or any other place.... Go here! The steak tacos are amazing!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    15
    21
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a favorite Mexcian restaurant of ours. Great fajitas and wonderful service. Their seafood burrito is also delicious, as is much of their other menu items. My wife really likes their appetizer tamale and quesodilla. A great family place. We also appreciate their willingness to adapt recipes for dairy allergies.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went early on a Saturday night, which was good since the place was packed when we left. The atmosphere is jovial and can get a bit noisy. We got the carne asada fajitas and the chicken fajitas and were pleased with both. They were quite good. I had a margarita. They have two sizes and I chose the small. I was glad I did as the drink packed quite a punch. They didn't skimp on the tequila. Their chips were just as I like them: thin and crispy and the salsa was pretty good. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location, ambience, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This Guapos is in the Fairlakes mall. The decor and high noise levels are adequate for a decent Mexican restaurant. Our party of 4 was seated at a table about 3 1/2 feet square. By the time our food arrived, reaching for the chips or a drink was like doing gymnastics. Food was very average, it is probably too Mexican? and prices are high. For a $7 Guapos margarita I got a small glass that had probably 3 oz of liquid in it. A few slurps and it was gone. I think "On the Border" is a better place, more food for the money and tasty too.

If you go for a birthday, they put a sequined sombrero on the birthday person and sing a real noisy song in Espaniol.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano beach florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Incas, Aztecs and Mayans, ... Unite !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our energy level upon arrival was SO HIGH because we - Along with Ben Afflack and 6 others had just escaped revolutionary Iran in a Swiss Air 747 ... okay,okay, it was a movie ... but we got thru Guapo's check point and into a giant tequila based beverage in an instant.

We four all flipped the menus open and shut and exclaimed: Fajitas !

Savvy, world adventurers such as we are, find it just plain enjoyable to sit back and shout out the Tex-Mex schtick offerings - planned in a NYC board room by a corporate chef. Guapo's was somehow different. to wit: everyone working, every position was, refreshingly Latino.

So, How was the food? Let me finish. the service was snappy ... everyone assisted their co-workers. I got dizzy watching the plates moving on and off the table. The cheeps-paper thin and hot, the salsa, thick and fresh.

And the fajitas ... were EXCELLENT. full cuts of beef and chicken, not paper thin slices.

Shucks, we even fell for the fried ice cream. Just a fun time with us -- the fun bunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guapo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.