We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incas, Aztecs and Mayans, ... Unite !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guapo's

Guapo's
13050 Fairlakes Shopping Center, Fairfax, VA 22033
703-818-0022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
pompano beach florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Incas, Aztecs and Mayans, ... Unite !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our energy level upon arrival was SO HIGH because we - Along with Ben Afflack and 6 others had just escaped revolutionary Iran in a Swiss Air 747 ... okay,okay, it was a movie ... but we got thru Guapo's check point and into a giant tequila based beverage in an instant.

We four all flipped the menus open and shut and exclaimed: Fajitas !

Savvy, world adventurers such as we are, find it just plain enjoyable to sit back and shout out the Tex-Mex schtick offerings - planned in a NYC board room by a corporate chef. Guapo's was somehow different. to wit: everyone working, every position was, refreshingly Latino.

So, How was the food? Let me finish. the service was snappy ... everyone assisted their co-workers. I got dizzy watching the plates moving on and off the table. The cheeps-paper thin and hot, the salsa, thick and fresh.

And the fajitas ... were EXCELLENT. full cuts of beef and chicken, not paper thin slices.

Shucks, we even fell for the fried ice cream. Just a fun time with us -- the fun bunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    15
    21
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Tex Mex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I'll start tge review with positive note. Their desserts are good. That's all I got. Foods aren't great but not too too terrible. 3 times I've been there and all 3 times all meats were over cooked. Service is good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fajitas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved the fajitas, have tried some of the other menu items that were just average. The sangria is excellent. Sit outside if you can, the din inside can get pretty bad when crowded.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

cervesa is great - chips too - like the outside seating and the atmosphere inside with the mexican/southwest decorations -

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley,CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went as a group. There were booths big enough for 6-8 people. The staff was very friendly and available. We started with chips, guacamole and margaritas. The margaritas were just right-make sure to get the large ones-they are the equivalent of 2 normal ones. All of us had different main dishes and were satisfied.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guapo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guapo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.