We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid pub fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
13041 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22033-2001
703-961-1140
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 358 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Benning, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Solid pub fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch here with a group of 7 - including two young children. Service was very accommodating and quickly set up a table for us. They have an extensive menu of burgers, pizzas, salads and sandwiches including a page full of gluten free choices. They did not have a good selection of low calorie choices and the only low calorie salad dressing available was a balsamic vinaigrette. The burgers were very good as was the turkey avocado bacon club. I substituted the asparagus for my side for $1.50 surcharge and was a bit disappointed to only get about 8 small spears - would have been better with the fresh vegetables. For soft drinks they offer Pepsi products. Tab for the 7 (with no alcohol) came out to $100 including tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    66
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips were terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've had many excellent experiences at Dogfish Head Alehouse, however, this was not one of them. One of the reasons I return to this restaurant is because they typically have fresh food, cooked to order and at reasonable prices. I was EXTREMELY disappointed with the fish and chips entree that I ordered tonight. Rather than what I expected, which was something that looked like a whole fish breaded and fried crispy, I received 4 SMALL square shaped tubes of fish. The insides were overcooked and tough, while the breading was soft and did not resemble the typical beer batter at all. If I was going to eat something the same quality as the frozen food section of Safeway, I should not be charged $15 for the meal. I can't even begin to express my disappointment at this meal and considering all the other good food I've had in the past. Dogfish Head Alehouse should really take this off the menu as it does not live up to their reputation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Four star pub food, five star beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'm not sure I'd make a special trip from a distance for the food, although the food is good, the menu has a little bit of something for almost everyone, and I've never been disappointed with anything I ordered. But THE BEER, THE BEER! You'd have to be crazy not to love the beer.

We've come here over several years for family celebrations and for dinners with friends, there is often a wait, and it can get loud. There is a bar area and an area of booths and tables. Service is fine, servers are helpful, know the menu and the beers, but it can get a bit rushed when the place fills up. But...THE BEER!

The descriptions of the various brews are detailed, which is good because they brew some very interesting and unusual things at Dogfish. You can try a little taste or have a big full glass. Or several. Come thirsty, you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I like the Brew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I rate it excellent because I really love the 90 minute IPA which is available on tap here. AS far as the meal is concerned, it's a pub and nothing really more. It's good pub food but keep in mind, this place exists to sell beer and ale.

If you're after a really well made craft brew, this is your place. Just don't go expecting fine dining or you will be disappointed.

Overall it's OK but it's noisy and it probably isn't for the kids - too many adults being children. Enjoy the beer and view the food as nothing more than something to fill the belly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A delightful neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We dined al fresco on their little patio right next to the parking lot and had a great time. Surprisingly little traffic going by. Food was delicious - lobster mac n cheese and salmon sandwich - and my husband loved the ale sampler. We're going back so he can try the 180!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogfish Head Alehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.