We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really pleasant neighborhood bar and restaraunt, great micro brews, and kid friendly for lunch or early dinner.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
13041 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22033-2001
703-961-1140
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 329 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A really pleasant neighborhood bar and restaraunt, great micro brews, and kid friendly for lunch or early dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We've been to this small restaraunt chain in other cities and we always have a pleasant time. In Fairfax the wait staff is always casual, sincerely friendly, and attentive. They have an outside seating area that is great in spring and fall. The selection of micro brews is top notch. They also offer a flight to sample multiple beers. The food is much more than pub grub and at reasonable prices. The wood oven pizzas and wood grilled veggies are very nice. They offer a kids menu if you need it. We'll keep going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    71
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Dogfish Head is a must stop if you are anywhere in the Fairfax area. The menu is full of unique dishes and they use fresh/gourmet ingredients in all of their dishes. I had the pasta w/ spicy meatballs and it was incredible and my wife had a sandwich that was great too! I have heard great things about their fish tacos if thats your thing. I wish there was a location in the Sterling area; I would eat there all the time! Check this plade out, you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love Dog Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The fish tacos on the " special" menu in Fairfax are addictive and the best thing on the menu, but everything is great. Also love the Spring salad. Soooo happy they added outdoor seating!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great brewer meets good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Dogfish has on tap many brews they are famous for. Their food is a cut above nationwide chains that serve salads and burgers. I wish they had more locations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This is the place to sample a variety of ales. The food isn't bad, either.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We decided to try Dogfish Head because it is about half-way between us and another couple we were meeting for lunch. We were all impressed with the extensive selection of ales, and much enjoyed the ones we tried. Everyone in the party was also pleased with the food - on this occasion, grouper, chicken, and roast beef sandwiches. The servers were friendly and efficient. We've already been back twice within a month.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogfish Head Alehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.