We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
13041 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22033-2001
703-961-1140
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Dogfish Head is a must stop if you are anywhere in the Fairfax area. The menu is full of unique dishes and they use fresh/gourmet ingredients in all of their dishes. I had the pasta w/ spicy meatballs and it was incredible and my wife had a sandwich that was great too! I have heard great things about their fish tacos if thats your thing. I wish there was a location in the Sterling area; I would eat there all the time! Check this plade out, you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    45
    46
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love Dog Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The fish tacos on the " special" menu in Fairfax are addictive and the best thing on the menu, but everything is great. Also love the Spring salad. Soooo happy they added outdoor seating!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great brewer meets good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Dogfish has on tap many brews they are famous for. Their food is a cut above nationwide chains that serve salads and burgers. I wish they had more locations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This is the place to sample a variety of ales. The food isn't bad, either.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We decided to try Dogfish Head because it is about half-way between us and another couple we were meeting for lunch. We were all impressed with the extensive selection of ales, and much enjoyed the ones we tried. Everyone in the party was also pleased with the food - on this occasion, grouper, chicken, and roast beef sandwiches. The servers were friendly and efficient. We've already been back twice within a month.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dogfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Small cozy bar. In places a bit too smile. Neighborhood crowd. Food was good, but had the steak and it was cooked okay. Seasoning was good. A bit of a tough cut. Overall good experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogfish Head Alehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.