We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auto pilot when looking for brew and pub food in FFX” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
13041 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22033-2001
703-961-1140
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Auto pilot when looking for brew and pub food in FFX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

So glad this place continues to thrive cause there is nothing else like it in the area. Excellent beer selection with great seasonals. The food is much better than one would expect. The wings are amazing...served really hot and delicious. I think I've tried most of the items off the bar menu...good stuff.
Another great thing is that it's a family friendly place. I often see parents with their kids in the restaurant area. The outdoor patio is a great recent addition. Although it's next to the parking lot, they've done a good job of planting around it. Will only get better with time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    44
    46
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Around good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

During the day this is a good place for both adults looking for a good beer and families. At night it is a bar and I would not take kids. The food has always been good. They do have a children's menu. The service is great. The appetizers are exceptional along with the beer selection. This is our go to place to chill out. We took my sister and her family out Saturday afternoon for lunch and I think they will be going back on their own as well. It does get loud at night so this is not a quiet romantic place. During the day the noise level is much lower (which I like).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and after work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great place for happy hour. The atmosphere is really good and so is the food. The service at the bar was great and they had a nice selection of drinks on tap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Tried this place for the first time on Trip Advisor recommendation. It did not let us down. Our server John R. was top notch, excellent service. We started off with Thai wings. My husband does not really care for wings, but these he loved, I had to remind him we are splitting these. I ordered a rueben with fries and he had the crab cake entree with asparagus and fries. Both were delicious. We will be coming back and also asking for John. This place will not disappoint. The beer was great as well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and of Course Great Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

By far the better of the 2 in Virginia. Easier to get to, better service. We were lucky enough to be offered the private dinning table in the front. Which was great since there were about 12 of us. The service was great from the bar to our table. Beer as always is great, i do wish you could choose your own sampler. Its a great place to go with family, friends or a night out. They even have live music.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogfish Head Alehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.