We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service & Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
13041 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22033-2001
703-961-1140
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Service & Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Dogfish has never let me down yet as I am a regular customer. Always greeted warmly at the door. The servers are very friendly and conscientious. The food is great also!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    44
    46
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

While the beer is the star of the restaurant, the food is fabulous, too. Its a great restaurant for families and the service is great!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends and have beer and a bite to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have eaten at the DFH Alehouse several times and have never been disapointed for both lunch and dinner meals. We have dined as a couple and in a large crowd. The service has always been fine at the host stand and our wait staff has always been better than average. The beer is good and the menu is not extensive but we have enjoyed everything from burgers to salads to the fish & chips. The Old Bay Wings are my absolute favorite. It is loud-ish on weekend nights so if you are dining with small kids you might want to either dine earlier.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good Times, Food and Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Was on a recent business trip in the area and went to Dogfish for dinner based on the tripadvisor reviews. I was eating alone that evening so I wanted a place that had a bar that I could sit down and have dinner. The place was crowded but I was able to find a place at the bar almost immediately. I didn't have to wait long for the bar tender to ask me what I wanted to drink and if I wanted a menu, despite being very busy. His service was excellent and friendly all evening. I had a couple of their IPA's which were excellent. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. The portions were generous and everything was very well prepared and absolutely delicious. I ordered the Thai wings and the Mahi Mahi tacos. I could see myself returning on my next trip to Fairfax.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Come here for the food, drinks, and atmosphere. We always have a good time when we are here. It's tradition for us to visit and discuss when there is a big decision that needs to be made. The crab soup and onion rings are delicious. Can't go wrong with fish sandwiches, burgers, wings, mac & cheese, brats, or Reuben. They have live music and there is now outdoor seating. We love this place and stop by whenever we have the chance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogfish Head Alehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.