We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good chain choice in Fairfax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Tuesday

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ruby Tuesday
9444 Arlington Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22031
703-273-5862
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 355 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A good chain choice in Fairfax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sometimes our family goes out to dinner, and the Ruby Tuesday off of Rte 29 in Fairfax Cty is sometimes our chocie. Its like most of the others in this chain, but the salad bar and interesting combinations and specials keep us coming back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We found this restaurant by accident! Ended up in a turn only lane and couldn't get over in time. What a pleasant surprise! Once we were seated, our waiter came right over and made sure we had all the sweet tea we wanted...it was a very hot day! Food was served quickly and was delicious. Salad bar was well stocked and kept very clean as well. I'm so glad we made a wrong turn!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Salad Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I go to Ruby Tuesday mostly for the excellent salad bar. I have almost always ordered the creole catch, which is a nice whitefish (tilapia) with creole seasoning. The fish is always properly cooked, but the sides (broccoli or green beans) tend to be badly overcooked, even when the wait staff is given explicit instructions about this problem.

Fortunately, on our most recent visit, ordering the fish allowed you to have the salad bar and a baked potato as the two sides, thus avoiding the soggy vegetables. My wife, who has had mixed experience with various burgers and other dishes, finally followed my lead last time and had the fish. She was converted.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Much Improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Time was, I'd go to Ruby Tuesday's for a basic burger or their salad bar. Other entrees just did not measure up and it seemed that the only vegetable choice was brocolli and lots of it! Then the restaurant went through a period when even the burgers were not consistently good. In recent years there have been big changes. The interior decoration has gone from quasi turn of the 19th century (lots of signs, mirrors, fake plants) to urban cool, with roomy booths, and a mid-century modern feel that's sleek, cozy, and welcoming. The menu has also undergone welcome change -- not in the offerings which are the familiar burgers, salad bar, and beef, chicken, fish, and pasta dishes, but in the preparation and presentation. At a late lunch recently, I chose the herb-grilled tilapia with two sides -- green beans and roasted spahetti squash. Hubby had the New Olreans style tilapia (with a shrimp and creamy sauce topping), the salad bar (an option if you don't want two sides) and rice. It was all freshly prepared -- the fish was well seasoned and cooked just right to a golden outside and a firm white inside. I loved the fresh, clean snap of the green beans and the slighty nutty crunch of the squash. Hubbies rice was light and spiked with bits of peas and carrots. All of this is served on simple square white plates with house-made seasoned biscuits. These tasty little rounds can be a diet buster, so be careful! Desert offerings look equally well-thought out -- just did not have room this trip to try the cupcakes, berry cobbler, or other treats. Drinks are imaginative -- there's even a "seasonal soda" offering. It looks like Ruby Tuesday's has grown up to become a more sophisticated spot but still one that's welcoming to families with children. We like it and plan on going back to have a lighter meal from the menu's lighter offerings and those desserts!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ruby Tuesday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The food for a national chain restaurant was not as good as it could be -

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Tuesday also viewed

South Riding, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ruby Tuesday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Tuesday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.