We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good chain choice in Fairfax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Tuesday

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ruby Tuesday
9444 Arlington Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22031
703-273-5862
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 377 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A good chain choice in Fairfax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sometimes our family goes out to dinner, and the Ruby Tuesday off of Rte 29 in Fairfax Cty is sometimes our chocie. Its like most of the others in this chain, but the salad bar and interesting combinations and specials keep us coming back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidbViennaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We found this restaurant by accident! Ended up in a turn only lane and couldn't get over in time. What a pleasant surprise! Once we were seated, our waiter came right over and made sure we had all the sweet tea we wanted...it was a very hot day! Food was served quickly and was delicious. Salad bar was well stocked and kept very clean as well. I'm so glad we made a wrong turn!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank boysmom1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Salad Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I go to Ruby Tuesday mostly for the excellent salad bar. I have almost always ordered the creole catch, which is a nice whitefish (tilapia) with creole seasoning. The fish is always properly cooked, but the sides (broccoli or green beans) tend to be badly overcooked, even when the wait staff is given explicit instructions about this problem.

Fortunately, on our most recent visit, ordering the fish allowed you to have the salad bar and a baked potato as the two sides, thus avoiding the soggy vegetables. My wife, who has had mixed experience with various burgers and other dishes, finally followed my lead last time and had the fish. She was converted.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
364 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Much Improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Time was, I'd go to Ruby Tuesday's for a basic burger or their salad bar. Other entrees just did not measure up and it seemed that the only vegetable choice was brocolli and lots of it! Then the restaurant went through a period when even the burgers were not consistently good. In recent years there have been big changes. The interior decoration has gone from quasi turn of the 19th century (lots of signs, mirrors, fake plants) to urban cool, with roomy booths, and a mid-century modern feel that's sleek, cozy, and welcoming. The menu has also undergone welcome change -- not in the offerings which are the familiar burgers, salad bar, and beef, chicken, fish, and pasta dishes, but in the preparation and presentation. At a late lunch recently, I chose the herb-grilled tilapia with two sides -- green beans and roasted spahetti squash. Hubby had the New Olreans style tilapia (with a shrimp and creamy sauce topping), the salad bar (an option if you don't want two sides) and rice. It was all freshly prepared -- the fish was well seasoned and cooked just right to a golden outside and a firm white inside. I loved the fresh, clean snap of the green beans and the slighty nutty crunch of the squash. Hubbies rice was light and spiked with bits of peas and carrots. All of this is served on simple square white plates with house-made seasoned biscuits. These tasty little rounds can be a diet buster, so be careful! Desert offerings look equally well-thought out -- just did not have room this trip to try the cupcakes, berry cobbler, or other treats. Drinks are imaginative -- there's even a "seasonal soda" offering. It looks like Ruby Tuesday's has grown up to become a more sophisticated spot but still one that's welcoming to families with children. We like it and plan on going back to have a lighter meal from the menu's lighter offerings and those desserts!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sailingboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ruby Tuesday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The food for a national chain restaurant was not as good as it could be -

Helpful?
Thank triciadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Tuesday also viewed

South Riding, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ruby Tuesday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing