We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Elegant Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Wok

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Masala Wok
10940 Fairfax Blvd. Suite J, Fairfax, VA 22030
571-432-1814
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 331 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Noodle, Asian, Vegetarian, Fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Clean Elegant Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Too often, we have been to Indian restaurants that had great food but middling to bad ambiance. Masala Wok is a refreshing change from this type of restaurant. With its bistro-like feeling we liked the dining ambiance. The food had both vegetarian and meat based choices. We liked the positive combination of food and ambiance and the fact that the restaurant is down the road on highway 29 in Fairfax.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I don't know about you, but I had never heard of this restaurant before. At first glance the site might appear to be closed - it has mirrored glass but one day I saw people coming out and I rushed in! First let me say, the restaurant is VERY neat and clean. The menu is easy to read and the employees are very helpful - in case you need help deciding what to order. I'm a vegetarian, but they have lot's of dishes with meat. My favorite item to order is the Basil Fried Rice. Great taste, lots of fresh vegetables and OH MY GOD, they give you a ton of food. I have yet to eat the entire amount. I seldom get thru half and it makes for great leftovers - because it comes in a reheatable plastic container. I usually go online and place my order, so I can get in/out quickly, but I have also dined in and there was never much of a wait - and YES, you still get a ton of food. The way the restaurant works is, you place and pay for your order, then take a seat and they bring the food to your table. There are only 2 locations (Fairfax and Herndon) - sure wish there was one by my house (Woodbridge), but the Fairfax location is near my job, so it works out fine for me. Do yourself a favor and try this restaurant. The food is really good and the price really can't be beat...all dishes are under $10.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very yummy Indian/Asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've been here several times and have always enjoyed the food. Our usual favorites are the Butter Masala (Butter Chicken) and Tikka Masala, and recently we tried the Korma Masala, which was also VERY good. We also tried the Manchau soup during our last visit, which became an instant "new favorite." The restaurant always looks clean, and food is made fresh to order. The only minor complaint I may have is that service (mainly at the cash register) is sometimes slow. But I can recommend this place for a quick and tasty meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is an interesting take on Indian food, and delicious! For those people who have never tried Indian, this is a good entry point. Much of the menu will appear somewhat more familiar, and you'll know what you're getting.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Try the Manchu soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I just tried that it was great Indian Chinese restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Wok also viewed

 

Been to Masala Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.