We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Elegant Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Wok

Masala Wok
10940 Fairfax Blvd. Suite J, Fairfax, VA
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #80 of 339 restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Clean Elegant Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Too often, we have been to Indian restaurants that had great food but middling to bad ambiance. Masala Wok is a refreshing change from this type of restaurant. With its bistro-like feeling we liked the dining ambiance. The food had both vegetarian and meat based choices. We liked the positive combination of food and ambiance and the fact that the restaurant is down the road on highway 29 in Fairfax.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    3
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I don't know about you, but I had never heard of this restaurant before. At first glance the site might appear to be closed - it has mirrored glass but one day I saw people coming out and I rushed in! First let me say, the restaurant is VERY neat and clean. The menu is easy to read and the employees are very helpful - in case you need help deciding what to order. I'm a vegetarian, but they have lot's of dishes with meat. My favorite item to order is the Basil Fried Rice. Great taste, lots of fresh vegetables and OH MY GOD, they give you a ton of food. I have yet to eat the entire amount. I seldom get thru half and it makes for great leftovers - because it comes in a reheatable plastic container. I usually go online and place my order, so I can get in/out quickly, but I have also dined in and there was never much of a wait - and YES, you still get a ton of food. The way the restaurant works is, you place and pay for your order, then take a seat and they bring the food to your table. There are only 2 locations (Fairfax and Herndon) - sure wish there was one by my house (Woodbridge), but the Fairfax location is near my job, so it works out fine for me. Do yourself a favor and try this restaurant. The food is really good and the price really can't be beat...all dishes are under $10.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very yummy Indian/Asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've been here several times and have always enjoyed the food. Our usual favorites are the Butter Masala (Butter Chicken) and Tikka Masala, and recently we tried the Korma Masala, which was also VERY good. We also tried the Manchau soup during our last visit, which became an instant "new favorite." The restaurant always looks clean, and food is made fresh to order. The only minor complaint I may have is that service (mainly at the cash register) is sometimes slow. But I can recommend this place for a quick and tasty meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is an interesting take on Indian food, and delicious! For those people who have never tried Indian, this is a good entry point. Much of the menu will appear somewhat more familiar, and you'll know what you're getting.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Try the Manchu soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I just tried that it was great Indian Chinese restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Wok also viewed

 

Been to Masala Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Masala Wok to your Saves list