We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in the Area for a Variety of Entertainment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Center for the Arts

Center for the Arts
George Mason University, 4400 University Dr., MS 2F5, Fairfax, VA 22030
703-993-8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 attractions in Fairfax
Type: Theaters, Performances
Attraction Details
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Deal in the Area for a Variety of Entertainment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

GMU Center for the Arts, located on the iniversity campus, is a marvellous place to catch a jazz concert, an opera, classical orchestral music, ballet, modern dance and many other forms of entertainment for sometimes less than half the price you would pay in Washington DC. There is pleny of free parking and a covered parking deck if you don't mind paying for the convenience.Check their website for a list of future performances.Join the Friends - make friends and enjoy extra privileges. With Center for the Arts and Wolftrap we have a true bounty of entertainment in our area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Kennedy Center Rival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This gem is, in some ways, a hidden treasure in the DC area. The center hosts many world-class performers each year, many of whom also perform at the Kennedy Center at ticket prices that are more than double form those at CFA. My wife and I have been "friends" of CFA for many years, and regularly take one of their "season" packages, which yields even more discounts, and even free events. Anyone living within a reasonable driving distance should take every advantage of this magnificent venue.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GMU Center for the Arts - Great Value, Great Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I only recently learned about the great shows at the GMU Center for the Arts. Most recently we saw Sir James Galway and the Irish Chamber Orchestra there. It was outstanding. The thing we like about the Center for the Arts is the caliber of the performers and performances, and the fact that ticket prices are better than any other venue in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, Usa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Local Performance Venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have visited this performance venue since it opened and I have always had a great experience here. The parking is plentiful, the building is nice, and the staff is great.

I have seen many preformance here including several theatrical plays, and many concerts. I have never had any problems finding parking. Also each time the staff has gone out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

As for the seating, I can truly say that this is one of the performance venues that there are absolutely no bad seats. From every seat in the venue, you will be able to easily see the stage.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Local venue for great performances”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Located on the George Mason University campus, this performing arts center is a beautiful facility. Great sound and viewing from any seat. Pricing is not exorbitant and if you are a "friend" of the center you get discount pricing, ability to exchange tickets and great customer service, plus a meet and greet area prior to performances and during intermissions. Many well known local, national and international artists and performing groups. Disabled friendly too. Parking deck next door with flat rate fee. Mason Inn and Conference Center located very nearby on campus for pre-dinner or after drinks.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center for the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Center for the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Center for the Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Center for the Arts to your Saves list